LibGuides: Healthcare Library Databases A-Z: Free Resources for HSC Staff

B

Bentham Open Journals Free-to-view, peer-reviewed open access online journals covering all major disciplines of science, medicine, technology and social sciences.
BioMed Central High quality peer-reviewed open-access journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome.
British National Formulary (BNF) via NHS Evidence Find drugs, interactions and treatment summaries.

C

Cochrane Library Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
CORE Search for topics and connect to the full text of millions of open access research papers.

D

Dimensions Search for open-access grants, publications, citations, clinical trials, patents and policy documents.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) Online directory indexing and providing access to high-quality, open-access, peer-reviewed journals.

E

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center Digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.

F

F1000 Research Open research publishing platform, peer reviewed with all source data included

H

Health Systems Evidence Continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Health Systems Evidence also contains a continuously updated repository of economic evaluations in these same domains, descriptions of health system reforms, and descriptions of health systems, as well as a variety of types of complementary content (e.g. World Health Organization documents about health systems).
HighWire Press World's largest archive of free full-text science research.

K

King's Fund Search for publications from the King's Fund, an independent charity working to improve health and health care in England.

N

NICE Guidelines Evidence-based recommendations by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence

O

OTSeeker Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. From spring 2015 you will need to register to search this resource - registration is free.

P

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database Gives access to the details of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy.
PsycBITE Catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
PubMed Digital archive of life sciences journal literature, maintained by the US National Library of Medicine. Essentially, PubMed is the free version of MEDLINE.

R

RQIA Guidelines Recommendations from the Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (Northern Ireland)

S

ScienceDirect Open Access Health Sciences Journals Search for and access open access health sciences journals published by Elsevier.
SIGN Guidelines Recommendations from the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network
Social Care Online Relates to social care in the UK and is updated daily by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE)
SocINDEX with Full Text The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
speechBITE Database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. Evidence-based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
SpringerOpen Over 200 peer-reviewed, fully open access journals and over 600 open access books covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences.

T

Transfusion Evidence Library The definitive resource for high quality, evidence-based information on all aspects of transfusion medicine.
TRIP A clinical search engine designed to allow users to find high-quality research evidence and other content types, including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

V

Violence Prevention Evidence Base and Resources A violence prevention resource for policy makers, practitioners and others working to tackle and prevent violence. It includes three key databases providing access to: abstracts of peer reviewed articles on violence prevention studies (Evidence Base); on-going violence prevention research trials (Trials Register); and key publications and resources on violence prevention (Resources).

W

Wellcome Open Research Peer-reviewed open access research, including all source data.
WHO Guidelines Recommendations and guidance from the World Health Organization.
Wiley Open Access Journals Authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines including anatomy, nursing, and obstetrics and gynaecology.

Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes scholarly literature in a range of disciplines and formats. While Google Scholar is free to use, it might connect you to paywalled articles.

Healthcare Library Databases A-Z: Free Resources for HSC Staff

Welcome to the Healthcare Library's list of free-to-access resources

B

C

D

E

F

H

K

N

O

P

R

S

T

V

W