Skip to main content

Sociology, Social Policy & Social Work: EU Official Publications

The European Documentation Centre

As a European Documentation Centre (EDC), the Library at Queen's is entitled to receive most of the publications issued by the European Union. The current collection dates back to the early 1950s.

All European Union documents are shelved at JY in the compact shelving area of Floor 2 of the McClay Library. A selection of current material is displayed in the law and official publications current journals and reports area close to the Floor 2 Enquiry Desk.

Arrangement of the Collection

Within JY the publications are arranged under their issuing body with a general section at the beginning. Due to the quantity of Commission publications these are sub-divided by subject.

The classification assigned to the collection is JY10 – JY850. Some publications are arranged under their issuing body, e.g. JY100, European Parliament. Due to the quantity of documents produced, many are assigned a general classification, e.g. JY300, Enlargement.

Barcoded items in the official publications area are available for loan and can be borrowed from the main Borrower Services Desk.

Tracing EU Publications

EU Bookshop (Advanced Search)

The EU Bookshop search pages provide details of EU publications from 1952 onwards. PDF versions are usually available and free to access.

The European Commission Library

Details of articles and books relating to the EU.

The Archive of European Integration (founded 2002) includes official European Community/European Union documents alongside independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents

 

Some Important Publications

Official Journal – Legislation (L series) and Information and Notices (C series).

Full text from the EUR-Lex website (1952 onwards)

The Legislation section (L) of the Official Journal contains secondary legislation enacted by the Commission and the Council. Publication of this legislation is mandatory. The Information & Notices section (C) of the Official Journal contains proposals for legislation and new research programmes, reports of activities of the main institutions, and official announcements. ‘Calls for Proposals’ relating to new research programmes are also published here. The Library no longer holds print copies of the Official Journal; issues for 1952-1957 are held on microfiche at MifB/JY50.P1 .

Preparatory acts (including Commission Documents)

Preparatory acts from the EUR-Lex website (1972 onwards)

These are documents used to prepare EU legislation and include Commission documents, Council positions, legislative proposals from the European Parliament and opinions from the European Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions.

These contain working documentation of the EU and include reports, communications and draft legislation. Each document is coded by document type, year and serial number.

Documents from the European Commission for example are coded and sometimes referred to as 'COM' documents. COM(2006) 370 is  the 370th document issued in 2006. The Library holds COM documents for the period 1983-1999 are available on microfiche. Selected print copies of COM documents for the period up to 2002 are shelved in the EU collection by subject.

European Parliament

European Parliament website

The full text of debates along with other Parliamentary business can be found under the 'Plenary' heading in the European Parliament website. 

Committee reports, opinions etc. from 2004 onwards can be found on the 'Committee' pages of the European Parliament website. Positions adopted by Parliament, joint texts etc from 1999 onwards can be found under the 'Plenary' heading. Print copies of  European Parliament Working Documents and are held in the Library for the period 1976-1989. They are shelved in numerical order at JY100(P2). Documents for 1985-1997 are available on microfiche and are shelved at MIcfB JY100.P2

Economic and SocIal Committee – Opinions and Reports

ECSC website

The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) is a consultative body of the European Union. Early Opinions and reports are shelved at MicfBJY91.P1 1984-2001. Later issues are available on the ECSC website.

Statistical Office Publications

Eurostat website

The Statistical Office produces a comprehensive range of EU statistical material, in its Eurostat series. The Library holds a selection of detailed tables and yearbooks organised by Eurostat theme, shelved at JY600.  Key statistical information is available from the Eurostat website.