LibGuides: Electronics, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science: Key databases

Accessing Databases

Many of the resources on this page are subscription databases.

On-campus, students and staff will usually have free guest user access.

To access databases from off-campus:

Always use links from the QUB Library web pages, Library Search or the Databases A-Z list. This will allow you to sign in for remote access.
A Queen's authentication screen will open for all off-campus access
Enter your Queen's University ID card number and password to sign in

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Full-text access to the journals and conference proceedings of both the IET and the IEEE as well as to IEEE standards. Coverage is from 1988 to the present although selected content dating back to 1950 is also included.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Access to subscribed and Open Access content published by Elsevier. Check 'detailed holdings' for Queen's subscriptions.

Springer Journals This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full text of articles published in Springer journals to which the Library subscribes.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window The British Standards Online (BSOL) database contains current, draft and historic British Standards as well as BSI national adoptions of European standards and selected international standards. Most documents are available electronically in full text.

EThOS The UK’s national thesis service. Provides online access to the full-text of around 260,000 UK doctoral theses free of charge. Many other theses can be ordered for digitisation on demand.

Please note: the EThOS service is currently unavailable due to a cyber attack.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Tel: 028 9097 6277