Skip to main content

Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology: Databases

Library support for the School of Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology

What are Databases?

If you want to quickly find some full text journal articles on a topic, you can use QCat Article Search tab on the Library homepage.

However, if you want to conduct a more in-depth search on the published literature available in your area of interest, it is best to use one of the bibliographic Databases available at QUB. Postgraduate students and 3rd year Undergraduate students doing dissertations will find these databases invaluable for locating journal articles related to their research.

Databases provide bibliographic details for journal articles (ie title of the journal, volume number, issue number, page numbers, title of the article, author and date). Most records will also provide an abstract (summary) of the article. Some databases will also cover reviews, dissertation abstracts, conference proceedings etc.

Databases Relevant to Geography, Archaeology and Palaeoecology

Some of the key databases relevant to Geography, Archaeology and Palaeoecology are listed below. The full range of databases available at QUB can be found in the Databases A-Z List.

If you need any help using any of these databases, please contact me at c.a.dunlop@qub.ac.uk

Databases Relevant to Other Subjects

If your area of interest overlaps with other subject areas, you can look at other Subject LibGuides to find other relevant Databases eg look at the History LibGuide for topics related to Archaeology or Historical Geography.

Obtaining Full Text Journal Articles

Where QUB has an electronic subscription to the journal, you will be able to link through to the full text from the database, but please note that you will not get the full text for all records retrieved in a database search

If the journal is not available electronically, you should then check QCat Library Catalogue on the Library homepage to see if we have the journal in print format. If we don't have it in either format, you will need to use our Inter Library Loan service to obtain the full text. 

However, for Undergraduate students, there should be sufficient full text journals available at QUB and you will not normally need to request ILLs. If you are having problems finding relevant journal articles at Queen's, I will be happy to help. Just drop me an email at c.a.dunlop@qub.ac.uk

Cited Reference Searching

If you find a journal article that is particularly relevant to your research, a simple way of finding similar articles is to look for ones which have referred to your original. You can do this using Scopus and the Web of Science.

Keeping Up to Date

The ZETOC and Journal TOCs services will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. They cover a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.

Help!

Still confused? Don't worry, just contact me at c.a.dunlop@qub.ac.uk if you need help using the databases.

QUB