Skip to main content

Planning, Architecture & Civil Engineering: Finding articles and papers

Ejournals

All the Library's ejournals are included in the A-Z List and there are also specific journals packages that may be of interest: 

Print Journals

Journals from previous years are kept in the Journals Back Issues area opposite the main stairs on each floor. Go to:

  • Floor 1 for shelfmarks A-H
  • Floor 2 for shelfmarks I-P
  • Floor 3 for shelfmarks Q-Z

Current journals with shelfmarks A-P are kept on the sloping shelves on Floor1 but those with shelfmarks Q-Z are kept with the back issues.

Key databases

If you just need to do a quick search for a few journal articles, use QCat Article Search or one of the e-journal packages on the left. They will deliver the full-text immediately.

For a more comprehensive search for journal articles and conference papers, use the databases because they have far wider coverage and lots more search options. 

Some of the databases contain full-text documents but, for those which don't, you will need to use the QConnect service to link from the database to the full-text elsewhere on the web. The databases cover many more items than are available from the Library but if you find something you cannot access, it can be requested via the Inter-Library Loans service.

A comprehensive index of journal articles on architecture published since 1934. Covers the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, interior design and decoration. A key resource for architectural research.

The online catalogue of the British Architectural Library at RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects), which holds one of the world’s foremost architectural collections. The catalogue provides bibliographic references to journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues, technical reports and AV material on architecture and related subjects. Does not include full-text access.

Provides access to technical documents, reports and publications from professional bodies related to UK building regulations, construction management, building and landscape design.

Planning, Architecture and Design Database Ireland: Provides bibliographic details of journal articles, books and book chapters on all aspects of the built environment in Ireland, North and South

PADDI tutorial (YouTube)

A comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series in full text. Useful for researching commercial aspects of construction.

Provides access to the full text of over 2,000 business journals. Company information and market research literature is also available. Useful for researching commercial aspects of construction.

Access is via the Engineering Village platform. Comprehensive engineering database indexing journals and conference proceedings on all aspects of planning, architecture and civil engineering published between 1884 and 1969. Search Scopus or the Web of Science for more recent content.

IBSS provides bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. A key database for research on environmental and spatial planning.

Guide to using IBSS

The world's largest bibliographic and citation database. A key resource for finding journal articles and conference proceedings in engineering and science disciplines. Also covers a wide range of research literature in social sciences. Less useful for finding literature about topics related to arts and humanities. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the impact of journal titles.

Scopus tutorials: Video or text

A continually updated database of full text catalogues and technical specifications from UK suppliers (and overseas suppliers with recognised UK agents) of building components and equipment for the construction industry.

Access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. A good complement to Scopus, providing better coverage of arts and humanities disciplines.

Web of Science Tutorial: Web of Science Quick Tour (YouTube)

QCat Article Search


Use QCat Article Search to look for full-text articles by title, by author or by topic.

You can search QCat from the Library homepage, or by using the box below.

 

Search QCat Article Search

 


Newspapers

Cited Reference Searching

If you find a journal article that is particularly relevant to your research, a simple way of finding similar articles is to look for ones which have referred to your original. You can do this by using these databases:

See the Cited Reference Searching tutorial for further information. (Text-only version)

Keeping Up to Date

The ZETOC and Journal TOCs services will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. They cover a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.