Skip to main content

Midwifery: RefWorks

Undergraduate, continuing professional, academic development and research

About RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a bibliographic management service that allows you to create a personal database and compile instant bibliographies in a variety of styles. It is web-based so it can be accessed from any computer with a web connection.

What does it do?

RefWorks enables you to:

  • create a database of references by importing them from a saved file, from an online database or by entering them manually
  • organise your references into folders
  • use your references to produce a bibliography automatically in whatever style you need (Harvard, Uniform, APA, MHRA and many more)

Accessing RefWorks

Who can use it?

All staff and students at Queen's can use RefWorks. Retired staff and graduates of Queen's can also use RefWorks via the Alumni Program.

Setting up a RefWorks account

The first time you use RefWorks you'll be asked to register online by signing up for an individual account:

  • click on Connect to RefWorks and then on the red "Connect" button
  • click on "Sign Up for a New Account"
  • complete the short registration form, choosing your own login name and password
  • NB you must use your Queens email address; the form will be rejected if you use any other email address
  • a copy of your login name and password will be sent to your Queen's email address

 

 

 

Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite is a simplified version of RefWorks which allows you to insert references from your account into a Word document while you are writing it and generate a bibliography. It can be downloaded from the 'Tools' section of the RefWorks website and there are different versions to choose from depending on whether you are using Windows or a Mac.

Other reference management software

There are lots of packages to choose from: some require a subscription and some are free. RefWorks requires a subscription but is free to Queen's staff, students and alumni because the subscription is paid by the University. Zotero, Mendeley and Qiqqaare free packages. A number of websites provide detailed comparisons of RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley and Qiqqa including:

Mendeley and Qiqqa differ slightly from RefWorks and Zotero because the emphasis is on the management of full-text pdf documents rather than references. You can also use Mendeley and Qiqqa to annotate PDFs.

Off Campus access

Off-campus access

To set up a new RefWorks account or login to an existing one off campus, you will need the Queen's Group Code. To obtain this:

  • click on "get code here"
  • enter your Queen's email address (e.g. j.smith@qub.ac.uk) and password

 

Help and advice

If you have any questions or need any assistance, please email the RefWorks Support Group (RSG):

refworks-support@qub.ac.uk