Skip to main content

HSC Allied Health Professions: Finding articles

HONNI Search

If know the exact title of the article you need then you can try searching HONNI directly by using the "Articles" search tab.

Or if you have a topic just enter a few keywords into the search box to retrieve articles on that subject.  Always remember for more detailed systematic searching it's best to search the databases outlined below.

Databases

Databases enable you to search for articles on a topic across a large of journals at the one time.  Below are some of the key databases most relevant to AHP's. If you are not familiar with searching database see the general tips box below or don't hesitate to contact your subject librarian.

Request a literature search

It is always best to carry out your own literature search however if you are struggling to find relevant literature or are pushed for time you can request a literature search online.

General Searching Tips

  • break your search/topic down into 2 or 3 key concepts
  • think of keywords, including synonyms, for each key concept
  • for the main databases, such as Cinahl, search for your keywords, for each concept, one at time
  • As a general rule, use OR to combine similar subjects, for instance "tennis elbow" OR "lateral epicondylitis"
  • Use AND to combine different subjects, for instance "rehabiltiation" AND "stroke"
  • use the limits in the databases to further reduce your search results - for instance, you can usually limit to years of publication or English language only
  • searches carried out on the databases can be saved or alerts created, you just need to set up an account within the database

Example:-

Review the literature on effective treatment of tennis elbow.

Concept 1: physiotherapy techniques OR strengthening exercise OR eccentric training OR acupuncture OR steroid injection

AND

Concept 2:  tennis elbow OR lateral epicondylitis

Please contact your subject librarian if you require further help in using the databases or carrying out a literature search.