Skip to main content

HSC Psychology: Databases

Databases

Databases allow you to search across thousands of journals simultaneously, and allow you to apply specific limits to your search. 

Key Databases for Psychology

CINAHL Complete

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

PsycBITE

Loading

Searching Databases

Databases are subject based search engines that enable you to search across a large number of journals simultaneously.  Before using databases, remember to break your search/topic down into two or three key concepts.

  • Think of keywords, including synonyms, for each concept.
  • For databases such as MEDLINE and CINAHL, search for your keywords or concepts one at a time.
  • Once you have searched for each keyword separately use OR to combine the synonyms and finally, AND to combine each concept.
  • Use the limits in the databases (e.g. date) to further reduce your search results.
  • Searches carried out can be saved or alerts created - set up a user account within the database.
  • For each search result, use the  Check for full text link to check if it is available via HONNI.

Please contact your subject librarian, if you require further help in using these resources.

Database Not Listed?

Unfortunately, some key databases aren't currently accessible via HONNI. These include:

  • EMBASE
  • PsycINFO
  • Web of Science

However, Subject Librarians can access these databases on your behalf, as they are available via Queen's University.

If you need to search these databases, please email your search terms/strategy to Patrick Elliott.