Skip to main content

HSC Management in Heath & Social Care: Finding Articles

HONNI Search

If know the exact title of the article you need then you can try searching HONNI directly by using the "Articles" search tab.

Or if you have a topic just enter a few keywords into the search box to retrieve articles on that subject.  Always remember for more detailed systematic searching it's best to search the databases outlined below.

Key databases

Databases are subject based search engines that enable you to search across a large number of journals at the same time. Most of the journals will be "peer-reviewed" - meaning that before an article is published it has usually been reviewed by at least one and often two specialists in the subject.  Below is a list of key databases for health management (click on the database name to access it). 

Request a literature search

It is always best to carry out your own literature search however if you are struggling to find relevant literature or are pushed for time you can request a literature search online.

Key tips for database searching

  • break your search/topic down into 2 or 3 key concepts
  • think of keywords, including synonyms, for each key concept
  • for the main databases, such as HMIC, search for your keywords, for each concept, one at time
  • once you have searched for each keyword separately use OR to combine the synonyms and then, AND to combine each concept
  • As a general rule, use OR to combine similar subjects, for instance "service development" OR "service improvement"
  • Use AND to combine different subjects, for instance "service development" AND "workforce planning"
  • use the limits in the databases to further reduce your search results - for instance, you can usually limit to years of publication or English language only
  • searches carried out on the databases can be saved or alerts created, you just need to set up an account within the database

Example:-

Review the literature on patient involvement in cancer care.

Concept 1: cancer care OR cancer services OR palliative care OR end-of-life care

AND

Concept 2: patient involvement OR patient participation