Skip to main content

Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology: Maps

Library support for the School of Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology

Map Library in the School of Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology

The QUB Map Library in the School of the Natural and Built Environment has the most extensive collection of print maps at QUB, including the 1st edition of the Six Inch Ordnance Survey of Ireland. Although many of the maps in the collection are Irish, the coverage is world wide.

The Map Library is located in room 01 007 (first floor) in the Elmwood Building.

Please note there are restricted opening hours for the Map Library. For enquiries or an appointment please email maplibrary@qub.ac.uk.

Some other sources of maps are listed below.

Contemporary Online Maps of Great Britain

Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection

*Please note that Digimap does not include Northern Ireland maps*

Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection contains maps of mainland Great Britain at scales ranging from 1:1,250 up to 1:750,000. There are scanned raster maps which are digital versions of Ordnance Survey's paper maps as well as vector maps at a range of scales including OS MasterMap®, the most detailed large scale mapping.

The service includes many other products from Ordnance Survey including postcodes, administrative boundaries, a gazetteer of place names and digital terrain models.

Standard tasks that Digimap allows you to perform are:

  • selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning
  • viewing maps at one of the pre-defined scales
  • printing maps at A4 to A0 size, in either landscape or portrait
  • annotating maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels
  • downloading a PDF., PNG, JPG print files for printing later
  • Setting a user defined scale for printing

The Data Download feature allows those with more specialist requirements to download map data for use eg in GIS software.

You will need to register before you can access the Digimap Ordnance Survey collection; log in with your student number and QOL password at Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection and complete the online form provided.

If you have any problems accessing Digimap, please contact digimap@qub.ac.uk 

Historical Online Maps of Great Britain

Historic Digimap 

*Please note that Digimap does not include Northern Ireland maps*

This resource allows you to view, annotate and print historic maps of mainland Great Britain.

Historic Digimap contains map data at scales ranging from 1:10,560 to 1:500 and dates ranging from 1843 to 1996; available for

You will need to register before you can access the Historic Digimap collection; log in with your student number and QOL password at Historic Digimap and complete the online form provided.

If you have any problems accessing Digimap, please email digimap@qub.ac.uk.

Historical Online Maps of Ireland

Down Survey of Ireland

Taken in the years 1656-1658, the Down Survey of Ireland is the first ever detailed land survey on a national scale anywhere in the world. All the surviving maps have been brought together, digitised and made available in this public online resource. There are two sections to the website:

  • The Down Survey Maps section comprises digital images of all the surviving Down Survey maps at parish, barony and county level.
  • The Historical GIS section brings together maps and related sources - Books of Survey and Distribution, the 1641 Depositions, the 1659 Census - in a GIS. All these sources have been georeferenced with 19th century Ordnance Survey maps, Google maps and satellite imagery.

Historical Print Maps of Ireland

The Ewart Map Collection is housed in Special Collections in the McClay Library. It contains approximately 150 original maps and facsimiles of printed and manuscript maps of Ireland; provinces and counties of Ireland; and individual places in Ireland, ca 1567-1900. About 50 of the maps are of Belfast or parts of Belfast, ca. 1570-1900. The collection also contains town plans, maritime surveys, ordnance survey maps (6 inch), and various railway, canal and road plans.

A listing of the Special Collections maps is available here.