All Ovid databasesAccess all Ovid databases subscribed to by the Healthcare Library, including MEDLINE and HMIC. Cross-search all databases, or access individual resources.
CINAHL UltimateThe definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
ClinicalKeyCutting edge 'clinical insight' engine from Elsevier, drawing from 1,000s of high-quality resources, including 100s of Elsevier journals and the latest edition of e-books. Also features an extensive collection of copyright-cleared images, and First Consult clinical summaries.
Cochrane LibraryCollection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
EmbaseContains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology, toxicology and medical devices.
ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterDigital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
H
Health Business EliteHealth Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
HMIC: Health Management Information ConsortiumHMIC is a compilation of data from two sources: the Department of Health's Library and Information Services and King’s Fund Information and Library Service.
Health Systems EvidenceContinuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Health Systems Evidence also contains a continuously updated repository of economic evaluations in these same domains, descriptions of health system reforms, and descriptions of health systems, as well as a variety of types of complementary content (e.g. World Health Organization documents about health systems).
J
Journals@OVIDAccess the full text of all Ovid journals to which the Library subscribes.
K
King's FundSearch for publications from the King's Fund, an independent charity working to improve health and health care in England.
M
MEDLINE ALLOvid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed CitationsIncludes new references that have not been added to the main MEDLINE database yet. A good place to look instead of PubMed for medicine and life science pre-publication references. Please note: works best with keyword searches only.
MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and MEDLINE 1946 to PresentCombines the full MEDLINE and MEDLINE In-Process. Allows you to search for published and pre-publication medicine and life science references in a single search. Please note: works best with a combination of subject heading and keyword searches.
N
NeuroBITENeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour. The website gives clinicians, students and researchers free access to the NeuroBITE database, thus enabling you to search for articles which might be relevant for your clinical practice or your research in a time-efficient way.
OTSeekerContains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. From spring 2015 you will need to register to search this resource - registration is free.
P
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseGives access to the details of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy.
PubMedDigital archive of life sciences journal literature, maintained by the US National Library of Medicine. Essentially, PubMed is the free version of MEDLINE.
S
ScienceDirect JournalsAccess to journals published by Elsevier, including full text access to journals subscribed to by the Healthcare Library.
Social Policy and PracticeSocial Policy and Practice represents an important source of evidence-based social science research for policy-makers, practitioners, educators and students working within economic and social development, social administration, social services, and care management. Coverage is extensive and includes:
- Public & social policy
- Public health
- Social care
- Community development
- Mental and community health
- Homelessness
- Housing
- Crime
- Equalities
- Law and order
- Children and families
- Older People
The database comprises over 320,000 bibliographic records, with a significant number citing important "grey literature" sources such as semi-published reports, surveys and statistics. Users can link to full text (where available) or order copies of the original records from document supply centers, including the British Library.
SocINDEX with Full TextThe world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
speechBITEDatabase of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. Evidence-based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
T
Taylor & Francis OnlineAccess the full text of all Taylor & Francis journals to which the Library subscribes.
Transfusion Evidence LibraryThe definitive resource for high quality, evidence-based information on all aspects of transfusion medicine.
TRIPA clinical search engine designed to allow users to find high-quality research evidence and other content types, including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
V
Violence Prevention Evidence Base and ResourcesA violence prevention resource for policy makers, practitioners and others working to tackle and prevent violence. It includes three key databases providing access to: abstracts of peer reviewed articles on violence prevention studies (Evidence Base); on-going violence prevention research trials (Trials Register); and key publications and resources on violence prevention (Resources).
W
Wiley Online LibraryFull text access to Wiley journals subscribed to by the Library.
