Skip to main content

HSC Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare Sciences: Subject Guide

Welcome to this LibGuide for HSC Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare Sciences.

For quick searches, to find books, journals or articles, it is best to use the search box on the HSC Library website, entering simple keywords. For more advanced searches, try using some some of the resources listed below. If you need any help or training, email Richard Fallis, Specialist Librarian for Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare Sciences.

Databases

Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals. Below are the HONNI databases most relevant to medicine, dentistry and healthcare sciences. Click on a database to access it (if prompted, you will need to log in with your HONNI username and password).

Other Databases

You might want to search other databases, depending on the topic, and scope, of your search. You can view and access all HONNI databases by clicking the link below.

Database not listed?

Unfortunately, some key databases aren't currently accessible via HONNI. These include:

  • EMBASE
  • PsycINFO
  • Web of Science

However, Subject Librarians can access these databases on your behalf, as they are available via Queen's University.

If you need to search these databases, please email your search terms/strategy to Richard Fallis.

Journal Websites

Click the links below to search within individual publisher websites for articles from journals subscribed to by the Medical & HSC Library. Searching publisher and journal websites in this way is useful for identifying new articles before they are indexed in databases such as MEDLINE.

Grey Literature

Grey literature is research material that isn’t formally published in a journal or a book. Finding grey literature relevant to medicine, dentistry and healthcare sciences can be difficult, sometimes leading to a dead end.

However, apart from using Google, you can increase your chances of success by searching the sources below.

Current Awareness Bulletins

Your Specialist Librarian prepares a number of monthly and bi-monthly current awareness bulletins, containing links to the full text of the latest articles on a range of specialties.

To view bulletins, and subscribe to receive new issues by email, click on the link below.

Zetoc Alerts

Zetoc Alerts is a current awareness service run by the British Library. It emails you the contents pages of new issues of your favourite journals, and can also send you details of new articles on topics of your choice.

To access Zetoc, click the link below and, when prompted, log in with your HONNI username and password.

To learn how set up a Zetoc Alert, contact your Specialist Librarian, or view the video below (click the square in the bottom right corner to view it full-screen).