Skip to main content

Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences: Home

Welcome

Welcome to this LibGuide for QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences students and staff. 

Links to relevant e-resources such as databases are below.

This LibGuide is maintained by Richard Fallis, Subject Librarian for Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences. To contact Richard, please ring him on 028 9097 8900 or email him.

Databases

Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals. 

The 'big 4' databases

The best place to start when you are carrying out a literature review.

For more information on search these 4 databases, click the link below:

Other databases

You might want to search these in addition to the 'Big 4', depending on the topic, and scope, of your search.

Online Journals

Click the links below to search within individual publisher websites for articles from journals subscribed to by the Library.

You can also access journal articles via QCat Article Search and the E-Journals A-Z on the Library website.

Grey literature sources

Grey literature is research material that isn’t formally published in a journal or a book. Types of grey literature include: 

  • Patents
  • Technical reports from government agencies or scientific research groups
  • Working papers from research groups or committees
  • White papers
  • Preprints (i.e. paper not yet officially published in a journal)

Some useful sources of grey literature are listed below.

Keep up-to-date with Zetoc

 

 

 

Zetoc is a database from the British Library whose current awareness facility emails you the contents pages of new issues of your top journals. Zetoc can also send you the details of new articles on topics of your choice.

To access Zetoc, click the link below, and log in with your Queen's number and password.

How to set up a Zetoc Alert

1. Type in your email address and give your alert a name - click 'Create'

2. Click 'Add Journals' 

3. Search for the journal you want

4. Click 'Add' beside journal

 

5. Click 'Journal Selection Options' to search for more journals; repeat above steps to add them to your alert

6. That's it! Zetoc will email you the tables of contents of new issues of your chosen journals