Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles from a Journal Reference
Law journal articles are cited in references using abbreviations for the name of the journal, e.g.
Sharon Turner, 'Transforming Environmental Governance in Northern Ireland' (2006) 18 J Env L 245
You will need to the full name of the journal to find the article using either the:
e.g. for J Env L, search for 'Journal of Environmental Law'
To find the full version of a wide range of standard journal abbreviations, use the
The Library Catalogue, or the A-Z list provides a link to the online source for a journal where available from Library subscriptions.
The year of publication of an article and journal volume number (if appropriate) can then be used to locate the article in the journal webpages. The final number given in the citation is the page number of the first page of the article.
Note: many articles can be found using the Library Article Search or Google Scholar and searching by article title. However these sources do not include law articles available from Westlaw UK and the Lexis Library.
For more on law journal citations, see the short video below.
Google Scholar and Queen's Subscriptions
Finding Law Articles using Subject Keywords
Use Westlaw UK to find UK law articles
- Go the 'Journals' tab
- Search by 'Subject/Keyword' for indexed articles
- Westlaw indexing covers all UK law journals
The Lexis Library holds additional full text UK law journals
Use HeinOnline to search US law journals
The Lexis Library 'Sources' tab provides access to recent issues of US law journals
Some law journals are also included in the JSTOR journals archive
Going beyond Law Journals
A number of indexes and full text sources can help you find articles in criminology, as well as providing a wider range of search coverage for criminal justice, human rights, environmental law etc. These include:
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Criminal Justice Abstracts also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
A wide ranging index of journal articles, books and reviews
PsycINFO (1806 - present)
Indexes articles in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences
Indexes a range of journal articles across all subject areas
Social Science Research Network - School of Law papers
Full text of articles published by Queen's School of Law academics and research staff
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current)
Indexes articles in sociology and related disciplines
Web of Science
Indexes articles and books across all subject areas (includes content from the Social Sciences Citation Index)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current)
Indexes articles in political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law