A journal is a specific type of academic publication. Like magazines they are published regularly throughout the year. This may be monthly, biannually or quarterly and each part is referred to as a journal issue.
Each journal issue contains a collection of articles (short pieces of written work). Articles are written by academic staff from universities and other research institutions. The articles support current research and teaching and will be useful to you during your studies.
As with books, on the front page or within the first few pages of the issue, there will be a list of contents. These may include articles, reviews, editorials and other short pieces of informative writing.
Most journals are published electronically, but the convention is to reference them using the print details. Depending on the referencing style you are using, they will look something like this:
If you wish to find the full text of a specific journal article (ie where you have the name of the author, title of the article, title of journal, volume number, page numbers etc), you can do this by searching the library catalogue at www.qub.ac.uk/lib. Make sure you search for the title of the journal, not the title of the article. See video below on Finding journal articles.
Most of our current journal subscriptions are available as electronic journals, but we also have print runs of older journal issues in the library. Print journals are kept on mobile shelves on each floor of the library; see video on the right for help using the mobile shelving.
The Library home page has a tab for Article Search which searches across all the full text journals which the Library subscribes to. You can search with keywords and then apply criteria to focus your results. This is a quick way to find good quality peer reviewed articles in full text.
The Library also provides access to a wide range of subject specific databases. These databases contain references and abstracts of journal articles and other relevant resources and they are the best way of finding literature on your subject. You will find the most relevant databases for Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology here.