Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- The Library Catalogue can be found on the Queen's Library homepage.
- Find books by searching the Library Catalogue. Find journal articles by searching Article Search. Both of these databases search all Queen's content along with quality open access content - so they are a good first port of call in your research journey.
- You can search the Library Catalogue and Article Search when you know what you are looking for: simply enter your book title/author or journal title/into the search box.
- Refine from your search results page using date, or add new search terms using the Advanced Search options viewable from your results page.
- For very specialist searches then try one of the Key Databases in your subject area. Your Subject Librarian will be able to advise on the best one to use.
Types of academic content
There are three main types of academic content you will be expected to find as a university student
Inden, Ronald, Imagining India (Oxford,1990)
Note the publication year. To find this book type the title into the Library catalogue. This book is available as both a print book and an ebook. The ebook may be accessed via a link underneath the title. the print book is on Floor 2 of the McClay Library at Shelfmark PR830.I6 CRON
2. Chapter in a book
Bhadra, Gautam, 'Four Rebels of 1857', in Ranajit Guha & Gayatri C. Spivak, (eds.), Selected Subaltern Studies IV, (New York, 1988)
Note the word "in". This is a particular chapter in an edited collection. It was published as a book. To find it search for the book in the Library Catalogue, then look up the content page to find the chapter.
3. Journal article
Nechtman, Tillman, 'Nabobinas: Luxury, Gender, and the Sexual Politics of British Imperialism in India in the Late Eighteenth Century' Journal of Women's History 18.4 (2006) 8-30
Note the volume number 18 and Issue number 4 in this example. Journals are published periodically, usually several times a year, so there could be several volumes for the same year. There are two ways to find this:
- First, copy and paste the title into Article Search
- If this doesn't work, find out if this is an ejournal by looking through the E-journals A-Z on the Library homepage. Then locate the Year, Volume and Issue number. when you have found the Issue look through the contents until you find the article you need.
Library Catalogue and Article Search
Book on loan? Place a request
When a print book in the Library Catalogue is on loan there will be a due date underneath it's Status information.
To recall the book:
- Click on the Loan Request link
- Sign in with your student number and password
- Confirm this is the book you need.
- Click Place Request
- The book will be recalled from the current reader who will have seven days to return it
When the book is returned you will receive a notification to your Queen's email address.
Planning your search
Start planning your search away from your online device - with a pencil and piece of paper. Think about what you are looking for. This will not be time wasted. If you are unclear about your topic consider some background readings or specialised handbooks or dictionaries.
Finding content online: searching databases
Information comes from a variety of sources of varying academic quality. Bibliographic databases are useful at university as content is selected by academic panels from peer-reviewed journals, thereby guaranteeing academic quality and credibility. You will retrieve fewer results using such databases, but most of your results will be relevant and crucially, you will be able to cite them with confidence in your assignments.