Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to indexes and databases
Databases are searchable collections of data or information - Google is one kind of database. In the academic world databases focus on particular types of information (journal articles, books etc.). Academic databases also tend to specialize on a particular subject area. ATLA is the key database for Theology and therefore focuses quite narrowly on this area - if you are interested in exploring topics more broadly it will be worth considering other databases.
The amount of full-text available will vary from index to index. Often a Connect button will be available and this will either link through to full-text or enable you to search QCat for the book or article. Please note that the Connect button does not guarantee that full-text is available.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Supports religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
Arts and Humanities Citation Index Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals. Part of the Web of Science.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
PhilPapers An index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current) This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.