Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online bookshops and catalogues
CIC sees itself primarily as a guardian and patron of Irish language and Gaeltacht culture.
National Library of Ireland - Catalogue
This discovery interface allows you to search many of the NLI's catalogued collections, including our digitized material, simultaneously. You can search their:
Printed collections including journals, magazines, and government publications
Manuscripts catalogued since 1990
Visual collections including prints & drawings, ephemera, and photographs 34,000 digitised glass plate images from our early photographic collections (Lawrence, Independent H, Eason, Poole, Keogh, Clarke, Stereo Pairs and Tempest)
Sources: A National Library of Ireland database for Irish research, contains over 180,000 catalogue records for Irish manuscripts, and for articles in Irish periodicals. You can search across all of the National Library's manuscripts catalogued up to the 1980s. Irish manuscripts held in other libraries and archives in Ireland and worldwide, listed between the 1940s and the 1970s. Articles, reviews and other content that appeared in over 150 Irish periodicals (download a full list of the journals) up to 1969
There are 1,727 biographies on this site. All of the featured lives, from 1560 to the present day, had a connection to the Irish language.
Cló Irish Books in Print
Offers bibliographic details of Irish-published, Irish-authored and Irish-interest titles currently in print. Includes also listings from Books Ireland of latest Irish-published books and a publisher and distributor contact database.
Dúchas.ie is a project to digitize the National Folklore Collection of Ireland, one of the largest folklore collections in the world. Material from six counties in the Schools’ Collection is available here now. New material is being added on a phased basis.
National Terminology Database for Irish, developed by Fiontar, DCU in collaboration with An Coiste Téarmaíochta, Foras na Gaeilge.
Gaois.ie is a platform for publishing language and terminology resources developed by Fiontar, DCU. The resources available here are the results of externally funded projects as well as the work of individual researchers.
Placenames Database of Ireland, developed by Fiontar (DCU) and The Placenames Branch (Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht).
RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta
Includes useful podcasts
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Thesaurus Linguae Hibernicae
Digital editions of Early & Medieval Irish
The National Terminology Database for Irish, developed by Fiontar, DCU in collaboration with An Coiste Téarmaíochta, Foras na Gaeilge.
Leabhair thagartha/Research books
electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language (eDIL)
The electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language (eDIL) is a digital edition of the complete contents of the Royal Irish Academy’s Dictionary of the Irish Language based mainly on Old and Middle Irish materials.