A database is an organised collection of records that can be searched online to locate useful material from trusted sources. It enables you to search systematically for articles across a large number of journals simultaneously.
If you would like any help or training on using databases, please get in touch.
Below are some key databases most relevant to nurses and midwives.
Below is a short video on how to plan a literature a search. The video is best viewed in full screen.
Before you begin to search the databases, it is important that you develop a well-planned comprehensive search strategy.
Break your search/topic into 2 or 3 key concepts.
Think of alternative keywords and synonyms for each concept including spelling variations and plurals.
When searching CINAHL, Medline or Embase, enter each search term into the search box one at a time. If the term is available as a subject heading (blue, highlighted and underlined) select it. If not, select the term as a keyword found at the bottom of the page.
Use Boolean operators (AND & OR) to connect search terms together.
OR is used to combine the similar terms. It tells the database that any one of the search terms can be present in the results. It broadens your results.
AND is used to combine the key concepts. It tells the database to retrieve results that contain all the search terms. It narrows your results.
Example:
How effective is repositioning for pressure ulcer prevention?
|
Concept 1
|
|
Concept 2 |
|
Repositioning OR Patient positioning OR Turning OR Posture |
AND |
Pressure ulcer OR Pressure sore OR Pressure injury OR Bed sore |
Limits such as date range and English language can be used to narrow your results. Searches can be saved, you just need to set up an account within the database.