LibGuides: Psychology for Healthcare Library: Databases

Databases

Databases allow you to search across thousands of journals simultaneously, and allow you to apply specific limits to your search.

Key Databases for Psychology

MEDLINE ALL
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
MEDLINE (last 4 years)
Access to records added to MEDLINE during the past 4 years.
MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
Includes new references that have not been added to the main MEDLINE database yet. A good place to look instead of PubMed for medicine and life science pre-publication references. Please note: works best with keyword searches only.
MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and MEDLINE 1946 to Present
Combines the full MEDLINE and MEDLINE In-Process. Allows you to search for published and pre-publication medicine and life science references in a single search. Please note: works best with a combination of subject heading and keyword searches.

CINAHL Ultimate

The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals. Indexes more than 5,000 journals, with full-text access to the contents of more than 1,300 journal titles.

http://hsclib-ezp.qub.ac.uk/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,sso&custid=s4815289&groupid=main&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cul

NeuroBite

NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.

The website gives clinicians, students and researchers free access to the NeuroBITE database, thus enabling you to search for articles which might be relevant for your clinical practice or your research in a time-efficient way.

Searching Databases

Databases are subject based search engines that enable you to search across a large number of journals simultaneously. Before using databases, remember to break your search/topic down into two or three key concepts.

Think of keywords, including synonyms, for each concept.
For databases such as MEDLINE and CINAHL, search for your keywords or concepts one at a time.
Once you have searched for each keyword separately use OR to combine the synonyms and finally, AND to combine each concept.
Use the limits in the databases (e.g. date) to further reduce your search results.
Searches carried out can be saved or alerts created - set up a user account within the database.
For each search result, use the link to check if the full text is available.

Please email me if you require further help in using these resources.

Librarian

Hazel Neale

Email Me

Contact:

Email : Hazel.Neale@healthcarelibrary.qub.ac.uk

Database Not Listed?

Unfortunately, some key databases aren't currently accessible via the library website. These include:

EMBASE
PsycINFO
Web of Science

However, Library staff can access these databases on your behalf, as they are available via Queen's University.

If you need to search these databases, please email me.