Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maps: Print maps

Information on online and print maps, both contemporary and historical

Historical maps in Special Collections

Special Collections on Floor 1 of The McClay Library holds a number of historical map collections.

Ewart Map 1567

Core Map Collection 1: The Ewart Map Collection

The Ewart Map Collection (c. 1567-1896), is a collection of 168 original maps and facsimiles of printed and manuscript maps of Ireland. The collection was originally assembled by Belfast collector and linen merchant, Lavens M. Ewart J. P. (1845-1898). It was formally presented to Queen's University in 1954 by Ewart's grandchildren, Dr. Vivian Lutwyche, Dr. Violet Lutwyche, and Miss Lenore Dawson. A number of complementary maps have been added to the collection since the original deposit. 

The collection is comprised of 4 main categories. These are: Ewart 1 - Maps of Ireland; Ewart 2 - Maps of the Provinces and Counties of Ireland; Ewart 3 - Maps of Individual Places within Ireland; and Ewart 4 - Maps and Plans of Belfast.

Digital Special Collections & Archives provides online access to a selection of maps from the Ewart Map Collection.

Core Map Collection 2: Hibernia Regnum Map Collection

The Hibernia Regnum Map Collection contains 289 facsimiles of the Down Survey of the Baronies of Ireland, 1655-1659.

The collection comprises two sets: Ulster and Munster; and Leinster and Connaught. Queen’s Special Collections holds 141 maps of the Ulster and Munster Provinces. Of these, there are 105 individual maps and 36 duplicates. The collection also houses 148 maps of the Leinster and Connaught Provinces. Of these, there are 109 individual maps and 39 duplicates.

Core Map Collection 3: Maps of the Escheated Counties of Ireland

The Maps of the Escheated Counties of Ireland is a collection of 31 facsimiles of old maps of Ireland. They were copied at the Ordnance Survey Office in Southampton and published by Colonel Sir Henry James, R.E., in 1861. 28 of these maps are the result of a survey directed by Sir Josias Bodley in 1609. The 3 maps entitled A Generalle Description of Vlster, Tyrone &c., and Tyrconnell &c. are earlier (c. 1603) and have been attributed to cartographer Richard Bartlett.

A full listing is available here.

These maps are also printed in a single bound volume which is available for consultation in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room. Please see our catalogue for bibliographical details. This item contains coloured versions of the 31 below listed maps with the exception of The Baronie of Omey, which is missing from the volume.

Digital Special Collections & Archives provides online access to the Maps of the Escheated Counties of Ireland. 

Read more about these maps on the Special Collections blog.

Other maps and atlases

In addition to these collections, Special Collections holds a wide range of maps and atlases relating to Ireland. These include Ordnance Survey maps of Ireland, the Irish Historic Towns Atlas series, Ulster and Other Irish Maps, and several versions of Petty's Maps of Ireland. All of the maps and atlases outside of the three core collections are searchable via the catalogue.

All of our maps and atlases are available for consultation in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room. Please see our blog post and infographic guide for an overview of our holdings.

QUB Map Library

The QUB Map Library is located in the Geography building in the School of the Natural and Built Environment.

It has the most extensive collection of print maps at QUB, including the 1st edition of the 6 inch Ordnance Survey of Ireland. Although many of the maps in the collection are of Ireland, the coverage is worldwide. 

Please note that the Map Library has restricted opening hours.

Contact maplibrary@qub.ac.uk for further enquiries.

Development plans

The McClay Library holds a collection of Northern Ireland Area Plans and other development plans, including associated maps.

The Reference Area Plan collection (shelfmark prefix RAP) is shelved in the Reference section on Floor 3. Relevant shelfmarks include RAP/HT169 and RAP/HT395.

Many plans are also accessible online at the website of the Department for Infrastructure