Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital primary sources at Queen's (login required off-campus)
BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries, Second Edition
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters and includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Covers many subject areas, including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Early European Books Collections 1-4
Covering all items from the age of Gutenberg, Koberger and Aldus Manutius to 1700, Early European Books brings together the canonical texts of the Renaissance, the Reformation and the Age of Discovery alongside rich primary source material like pamphlets, sermons, almanacs and other ephemera.
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections
Access to scanned full text copies of 150,000 18th Century books, pamphlets and ephemera.
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. Gale Primary Sources greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and powerful research tools.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
John Johnson Collection
Provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Alongside historic journal content, other primary sources from JSTOR Community Collections may be found via the JSTOR database - including material from Queen's University Belfast Special Collections.
JustisOne (UK Core)
JustisOne (UK Core) includes access to House of Lords / Supreme Court; Privy Council; Court of Appeal (Civil Division); Court of Appeal (Criminal Division); High Court; Statutes; Statutory Instruments; Local & Private Acts.
Mass Observation Online
Mass Observation Online makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years.
Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration (Module I)
Collection materials include unique primary source material on the ‘Century of Immigration’ (1800-1924). Materials include Colonial Office files on emigration, unique diaries, personal letters, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, oral histories, and journals.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - British Politics and Society
A resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration
The Stormont Administration ran Northern Ireland as a province of the UK from 1921-72. This digital resource offers full-text searching of facsimile images of the complete record of Stormont from the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, along with new interpretative essays and resources.
Women’s Magazine Archive Collection 2
Women’s Magazine Archive Collection 2 is an archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Yeats, W. B. - The Collected Letters
The InteLex electronic edition of The Collected Letters of W. B. Yeats includes all of the known letters of the great Irish poet, dramatist and statesman.