Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archaeology & Palaeoecology: Online maps

Library support for Archaeology & Palaeoecology

Contemporary online maps of Great Britain

Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection

*Please note that Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection does not include Northern Ireland maps*

Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection contains maps of mainland Great Britain at scales ranging from 1:1,250 up to 1:750,000. There are scanned raster maps which are digital versions of Ordnance Survey's paper maps as well as vector maps at a range of scales including OS MasterMap®, the most detailed large scale mapping.

The service includes many other products from Ordnance Survey including postcodes, administrative boundaries, a gazetteer of place names and digital terrain models.

Standard tasks that Digimap allows you to perform are:

  • selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning
  • viewing maps at one of the pre-defined scales
  • printing maps at A4 to A0 size, in either landscape or portrait
  • annotating maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels
  • downloading a PDF., PNG, JPG print files for printing later
  • Setting a user defined scale for printing

The Data Download feature allows those with more specialist requirements to download map data for use eg in GIS software.

You will need to register before you can access the Digimap Ordnance Survey collection; log in with your student number and QOL password at Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection and complete the online form provided.

If you have any problems accessing Digimap, please contact digimap@qub.ac.uk 

Historical online maps of Great Britain

Historic Digimap

*Please note that Historic Digimap does not include Northern Ireland maps*

This resource allows you to view, annotate and print historic maps of mainland Great Britain.

Historic Digimap contains map data at scales ranging from 1:10,560 to 1:500 and dates ranging from 1843 to 1996; available for

You will need to register before you can access the Historic Digimap collection; log in with your student number and QOL password at Historic Digimap and complete the online form provided.

If you have any problems accessing Digimap, please email digimap@qub.ac.uk

Land Cover online maps of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Environment Digimap

Environment Digimap provides access to Land Cover data from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology. Separate datasets are available for 1990, 2000, 2007 and 2015, all national coverages. Also included are Dudley Stamp’s maps of the 1930’s Land Utilisation Survey of Britain.

You will need to register before you can access the Environment Digimap collection; log in with your student number and QOL password at Environment Digimap and complete the online form provided.

If you have any problems accessing Digimap, please email digimap@qub.ac.uk

Contemporary online maps of Northern Ireland - OSNI

Spatial NI is Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland's web mapping platform, designed to be a 'one stop shop' for finding and using geospatial data relating to Northern Ireland. It provides access Ordnance Survey's authoritative mapping data and other geospatial  information from multiple providers across the public and private sectors. 

Northern Ireland Historic Environment online maps

The Historic Environment Map Viewer allows you to view the locations of built heritage sites from the Department for Communities based on mapping provided by OS®NI.

 

Contemporary online maps of the Republic of Ireland - OSI

The GeoHive service provides access, through a data catalogue and a map viewer, to a range of authoritative publicly available Irish spatial data, including topographic, street address and aerial imagery.

Republic of Ireland Historic Environment maps

The Historic Environment Viewer is a new free-to-use digital service provided by the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage.