Skip to main content

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) and Library Services: Home

FAQs

We’ve produced a FAQ concerning the closure of the Library at Queen's. Don’t see your question answered here? Just contact your Subject Librarian or email: library@qub.ac.uk.

The FAQs page on the University website is intended to answer the concerns of both staff and students and is being constantly updated to reflect the latest guidance, so please use this as your primary source of information.

Contacts

Latest Information

McClay, Biomedical and Medical Libraries

  • Although the library buildings are closed until further notice, the Library at Queen’s is open online for business. We will keep you updated here regarding potential reopening dates for our buildings.

Book Loans

  • Your loans have been renewed until 15 June in the first instance
  • No fines will apply during the closure period
  • A Book Return Bin has been set up at Receptions in Queen's Elms BT1 and BT9 for you to return books while the Library is closed

Subject Librarians

  • Throughout this period, your Subject Librarian is available to provide online support.

Inter-Library Loans

  • During the Library closure period Inter-Library Loan article requesting  has temporarily been extended to Undergraduate and Postgraduate Taught students to increase access to resources.
  • Select the Inter-Library Loan option under the catalogue Search box on the Library Home page to place a request.

E-resources Off Campus

Current staff and students of Queen's University Belfast can access most e-resources off campus (from home).

When you are accessing e-resources off campus you will need to use your University login, this is the same username and password you use to access your Queen's University Belfast email and Queen's Online.

You should use QUB Library as a starting point and use the following services to search:

Library Catalogue for e-books, e-journals and databases, e.g. JSTOR, Lexis, Scopus, Web of Knowledge etc.

Article Search for full text articles.

E-Journals A-Z for e-journals.

Databases A-Z for online databases.

Google Scholar for full text articles. How to set up QUB links in Google Scholar from home.

If you have any questions about accessing databases or about which resources Queen's University subscribes to, please contact your Subject Librarian.

If you would like to see information about resources relevant to your area of study please select the appropriate subject from Subject Guides.

Digital Resources at Special Collections provides access to a number of digital platforms accessible off campus including digitised manuscripts and online exhibitions.

If you are still experiencing a problem, please provide details in call to Request IT Support.

Twitter

LibChat

Click the chat icon to connect with support.