Skip to main content

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) and Library Services: Additional access to e-books and other e-resources

Queen's University Belfast Library subscribes to thousands of e-books and e-journals for your use.  These can be accessed from home (remotely) please consult E-resources off campus for more information.  ‚Äč

Additional access to e-books and other e-resources

E-resources made available to Queen's University Belfast on a temporary basis.
 

Certain publishers have temporarily extended access to content on their platforms in response to the current Covid-19 pandemic. Below are a list of publishers and information service providers who are providing increased access.

 

* Please note that this extended access could be withdrawn by the publisher at any time. 

 

Publisher Details
Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews are extending access to content on their platform, see publisher statement 

Berghahn Journals

Berghahn Journals – new issues and all back issues - are freely available until June 30.

Bloomsbury Architecture Library Due to the current situation, Bloomsbury are offering complimentary access to this resource until 31st May 2020.
Bloomsbury Collections  Due to the current situation, Bloomsbury are offering complimentary access to this resource until 31st May 2020.
Bloomsbury Cultural History  Due to the current situation, Bloomsbury are offering complimentary access to this resource until 31st May 2020.
Bloomsbury Popular Music  Due to the current situation, Bloomsbury are offering complimentary access to this resource until 31st May 2020.
Brepols BrepolsOnline offers extended access to books and journals, published by Brepols, across a broad range of humanities disciplines.
Extended access is available until 31st May 2020.
British Online Archives

 

British Online Archives provides 30-Day free access to entire database for existing UK Customers in Light of COVID-19 Outbreak.
Access available until 23rd April 2020.

Cambridge Core Ebooks

All 700 textbooks published and currently available in HTML format on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020. 

Churchill Archive  Due to the current situation, Bloomsbury are offering complimentary access to this resource until 31st May 2020.
Drama Online Drama Online is available as a trial. *Trial end date to be confirmed.
EBSCO eBooks EBSCO eBooks is partnering with publishers to waive simultaneous user limits wherever possible, ensuring unlimited access to e-books.
EBSCO Faculty Select

Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.

ElgarOnline ElgarOnline have converted Queen's University Belfast Library's print titles to ebooks until the end of June 2020.

Epigem (part of Oxford University Press)

Epigeum have made their courses on Teaching Online and Blended Learning freely available until the end of May 2020.

Harvard Business Review E-Books Complete catalogue of Harvard Business Review e-books.  With over 600 e-books that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series.
Available until TBC.
Historical Texts JISC Historical Texts is available until 31 July 2020 during the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis. Historical Texts brings together Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection and the UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL).
Journal Archives JISC Journal Archives is available until 31 July 2020 during the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis. Journal Archives brings together content from 8 major publishers: Brill, Institution of Civil Engineers, Institute of Physics, ProQuest, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, the Royal Society of Chemistry and Taylor and Francis as well as the complete run of the feminist magazine Spare Rib.
JoVE Temporary free access to Science Education videos, through to 15th June 2020 for STEM teaching. Use the following form to request free access.
JSTOR JSTOR are expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, as well as additional ebooks for JSTOR-participating academic institutions.
Loeb Classical Library Loeb Classical Library makes Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers.
Loeb Classical Library will be accessible as a trial until 30th June 2020.
LWW Health Library Delivers trusted health science education and clinical content and provides interactive online access to essential texts, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks specifically tailored for the specialty.
Access is available until 30th May 2020.

Ohio State University Press

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Law Module

Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Law is designed to provide authoritative guidance. 
T
rial access to Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Law Module is valid until 6th June 2020.

Oxford Competition and Anti-Trust Oxford Competition Law (OCL) is the only fully integrated service to combine recognised market-leading commentaries with rigorous, selective National case reports and analysis from EU member states. OCL provides a suite of fully interlinked competition analysis, peer reviewed case reports and source materials - the ideal resource for assisting with case preparation.
Trial access is valid until 6th June 2020.
Oxford Constitutional Law Oxford Constitutional Law (OXCON) is the home of Oxford’s constitutional law services, including Oxford Constitutions of the World, US Constitutional Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law.
Trial access is valid until 6th June 2020.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Law Module Trial access is valid until 6th June 2020.
Oxford International Arbitration Trial access is valid until 6th June 2020.
Oxford Legal Research Library The Oxford Legal Research Library (OLRL) includes four collections: International Commercial Arbitration, International Commercial Law, Financial and Banking Law & Private International Law.
Trial access to Oxford Legal Research Library is valid until 6th June 2
020.
Oxford Politics Trove Trial access to Oxford Politics Trove is valid until 31st May 2020.
Oxford Public International Law Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) is a comprehensive, single location providing integrated access across international law services.
Trial access to Oxford Public International Law is valid until 6th June 2
020.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Law Module Trial access is valid until 6th June 2020.
Oxford Trove Law Law Trove facilitates a rounded and complete study of law. Its powerful search facility means you can delve deeper into your title, navigate more easily, and connect with additional resources in your own institution’s library collection.
Trial access to Oxford Trove Law is valid until 31st May 2020.
Project Muse In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free.
ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest has partnered with more than 90 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons. Restrictions have been temporarily lifted to allow for unlimited concurrent usage.

Redshelf RedShelf is providing students with free, convenient access to their eBooks and learning materials. Students need to create a free log-in to access.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals Trial to RIPM Jazz Periodicals is available until 31st May 2020.
RIPM Preservation Series: European and North American Music Periodicals Trial to RIPM Preservation Series: European and North American Music Periodicals is available until 31st May 2020.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text Trial to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is available until 31st May 2020.
SAGE Research Methods Video

SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. 
Trial is available until 22nd June 2020.

ScienceDirect Textbooks

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) have made additional textbooks on ScienceDirect available to ScienceDirect customers.
SoftChalk SoftChalk is offering free access to SoftChalk Cloud from now through May 31, 2020 to anyone who may need it to quickly and easily create online lessons and course materials for delivery to students.
United States Documents Masterfile: 1774 - 2020 United States Documents Masterfile enables a single search for indexes and records for nearly 250 years of U.S. Federal government information.
Trial is available until 30th June 2020.
University of Michigan Ebook Collection Access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the University of Michigan Ebook Collection, UMP EBC until the end of April 2020.
VitalSource Access an expansive, curated catalog of etexts from participating publishers, available through May 25, 2020. Readers need to use this form to register.
Welfare Benefits and Tax Credits Handbook 2019/20 Readers can sign up for a 1 month free trial using the link to create an individual login.
World Scientific Journals Due to the impact of COVID-19 ALL World Scientific has upgraded Queen's University Belfast’s journal access to include ALL World Scientific journal content published from 2001. This takes effect from now, until June 30, 2020.