Skip to Main Content

Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences

Subject guide for all QUB Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences students and staff

Database video guides

See below for video guides on using, plus links to, key bibliographic databases of relevance to medicine, dentistry and biomedical sciences (MDBMS) searches.

Database queries should be directed to Richard Fallis, Subject Librarian for MDBMS: r.fallis@qub.ac.uk 

Students are asked to view the video guides below, and/or attend a database training session listed at https://libguides.qub.ac.uk/medicinedentistrybiomedicalsciences/training, before requesting a Subject Librarian tutorial.

Ovid databases (e.g. MEDLINE, Embase)

MEDLINE, Embase and APA PsycINFO are key medicine and life science databases, and Queen's students and staff can search them via the Ovid platform.

Click the links below to access these databases, logging in with your QUB number and password when prompted.

(Other versions of these databases, and additional Ovid resources, are accessible via the Library's Databases A-Z.)

See below for videos covering various aspects of searching these databases.

Searching MEDLINE via Ovid

Video runtime: 15 minutes 44 seconds

Ovid databases: beyond MEDLINE

Video runtime: 7 minutes 18 seconds

Ovid databases: explode, focus, scope

Video runtime: 9 minutes 35 seconds

Web of Science Core Collection

Web of Science Core Collection is a useful database to search in addition to Ovid databases such as MEDLINE ALL and Embase.

Web of Science Core Collection indexes a broad range of topics, including medicine, physical sciences, social sciences, and computing/IT, as well as content from countries/regions that might be under-represented in other databases.

To access Web of Science Core Collection, click the link below, logging in with your QUB number and password when prompted.

See below for a video covering various aspects of searching Web of Science Core Collection.

Searching Web of Science Core Collection

Video runtime: 6 minutes 36 seconds

Scopus

Scopus is very similar to Web of Science Core Collection, in terms of both how it works, and the content that it indexes (e.g. medicine, physical sciences, social sciences, and computing/IT).

To access Scopus, click the link below, logging in with your QUB number and password when prompted.

See below for a video covering various aspects of searching Scopus.

Searching Scopus

Video runtime: 5 minutes 19 seconds

PubMed

PubMed is a free database that searches MEDLINE and a number of other sources. 

Please note: For high-level literature searches, such as scoping and systematic reviews, it is recommended that MEDLINE via Ovid rather than PubMed is used, because MEDLINE via Ovid features automatic subject heading mapping, which PubMed lacks. See the videos on this guide's Ovid databases page for more information.

To access PubMed, go to https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/, or click the link below, and log in with your Queen's number and password, to access a version of PubMed containing QConnect links to check for article full text via Library journal subscriptions.

See below for a video covering various aspects of searching PubMed.

Searching PubMed

Video runtime: 4 minutes 35 seconds

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library indexes Cochrane systematic reviews, as well as other resources such as protocols and clinical trials.

To access Cochrane Library, click the link below.

See below for a video covering various aspects of searching Cochrane Library.

Searching Cochrane Library

Video runtime: 4 minutes 14 seconds