Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences: Welcome

Welcome to the Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences subject guide

This subject guide tells you how to connect to your Subject Librarian, and provides direct links to key databases and other Library resources relevant to Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences.

Contact your Subject Librarian

Your Subject Librarian can provide:

  • Library training
  • Literature search planning
  • Reference management advice

Also, contact him if you would like to request resources (e.g. books or journals) for the Library.

 

Richard Fallis
Subject Librarian for Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
028 9097 8900
Email

Image result for twitter logo

Click below to view the current awareness bulletins that Richard prepares on a bi-monthly basis for QUB research areas. Bulletins are available as PDFs, and as collections on the Read by QxMD app.

Upcoming training sessions

Click the links below to register. All training delivered on-line via MS Teams.

Ovid Databases: QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences

06/12/2021 10:00 - 11:30 https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/ovid-databases-qub-medicine-dentistry-biomedical-sciences-tickets-216186288007

Web of Science & Scopus: QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences

08/12/2021 10:00 - 11:30 https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/web-of-science-scopus-qub-medicine-dentistry-biomedical-sciences-tickets-216188344157

EndNote: QUB Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences

15/12/2021 10:00 - 11:30 https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/endnote-qub-medicine-dentistry-biomedical-sciences-tickets-216192897777

Databases

Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals. 

The 'Big 4' databases

The best place to start when you are carrying out a literature review. 

Other databases

You might want to search these in addition to the 'Big 4', depending on the topic, and scope, of your search. Other resources are listed in our Databases A-Z.

Online journals

Click the links below to search within individual publisher websites for articles from journals subscribed to by the Library.

You can also access journal articles via QCat Article Search and the E-Journals A-Z on the Library website.

Grey literature

Grey literature is research material that isn’t formally published in a journal or a book. Some useful sources of grey literature are listed below.

Clinical trial registries

Guidelines

Other sources