LibGuides: Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences: Resource quick links

Quick links to key Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences resources

Below are direct links to the major Library resources used by QUB Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences students and staff. Log in with your QUB number and password if prompted to gain access to a particular resource.

If you have any questions about using these resources, please email Richard Fallis.

Databases

Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals.

The 'Big 4' databases

The best place to start when you are carrying out a literature review.

Medline ALL This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
Embase This link opens in a new window Ovid database, covering biomedical and extensive amounts of pharmacological research dating back to 1974.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Scopus This link opens in a new window SCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.

Other databases

You might want to search these in addition to the 'Big 4', depending on the topic, and scope, of your search. Other resources are listed in our Databases A-Z.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for selected state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
Medline (last 5 years) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
APA PsycINFO (1806 - present) This link opens in a new window APA PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
APA PsycINFO (2002 - present) This link opens in a new window APA PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature, maintained by the US National Library of Medicine. Search this special version of PubMed instead of going directly to https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed to link to full text of articles in journals subscribed to by QUB (denoted by presence of QConnect button).

Grey literature

Grey literature is research material that isn’t formally published in a journal or a book. Some useful sources of grey literature are listed below.

Clinical trial registries

clinicaltrials.gov Includes details of trials which have not yet been completed or remain unpublished.
ISRCTN Registry Registry of trials designed to assess the efficacy of health interventions in any human population.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) The ICTRP Search Portal aims to provide a single point of access to information about ongoing and completed clinical trials. It provides a searchable database containing the trial registration data sets made available by data providers around the world meeting criteria for content and quality control.

Guidelines

Guidelines & Audit Implementation Network (GAIN) Northern Ireland-based network, aiming to deliver audit, guidelines, teaching and medical device evaluation in a reliable and consistent fashion.
National Institute for Health & Clinical Excellence (NICE) NICE guidance supports healthcare professionals and others to make sure that the care they provide is of the best possible quality and offers the best value for money.
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) The Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) develops evidence based clinical practice guidelines for the National Health Service (NHS) in Scotland. SIGN guidelines are derived from a systematic review of the scientific literature and are designed as a vehicle for accelerating the translation of new knowledge into action to meet our aim of reducing variations in practice, and improving patient-important outcomes.

Other sources

Grey Literature Report Bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
King's Fund Research, reports and analysis on health and social care, with a focus on NHS England.
National Institute for Health Research Information about ongoing research, sponsored by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR).
OpenDOAR Directory of academic open access repositories at multiple research institutions.
PROSPERO Maintained by the University of York's Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), PROSPERO includes systematic reviews of the effects of interventions and strategies to prevent, diagnose, treat, and monitor health conditions, for which there is a health related outcome.
Refworld Policy documents, guidelines, handbooks and other resources from the UNHCR, relating to refugees.
Research Portal at Queen's Search for the latest, and archived, research by researchers at Queen's University Belfast.