Skip to main content

Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare Sciences for Healthcare Library: Subject Guide

Welcome

This LibGuide connects you to key Healthcare Library resources for HSC Medicine, Dentistry and Healthcare Sciences staff. It also contains a LibChat widget for contacting your Specialist Librarian, and details of training that may be booked on-line.

Contact your Specialist Librarian

 

Richard Fallis
Specialist Librarian for Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare Sciences
028 9097 8900
Email

Image result for twitter logo

Request a Literature Search

Book a Subject Librarian Tutorial

To book a tutorial with Richard Fallis, Subject Librarian for Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences, please email him, or ring him on 028 9097 8900.

Alternatively, a selection of tutorial slots can be booked on-line using the widget below. Click on a day and a time slot, click Begin Registration, then enter your name and email address to book the slot.

(Drop-in clinic dates also appear in this widget. No registration is required for drop-in clinics.)

Databases

Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals.

Below are the Healthcare Library databases most relevant to medicine, dentistry and healthcare sciences. 

Click on a database to access it (if prompted, you will need to log in with your Healthcare Library username and password).

Other Databases

You might want to search other databases, depending on the topic, and scope, of your search. You can view and access all Healthcare Library databases by clicking the link below.

Online Journals

Click the links below to search within individual publisher websites for articles from journals subscribed to by the Healthcare Library. Searching publisher and journal websites in this way is useful for identifying new articles before they are indexed in databases such as MEDLINE.

Zetoc Alerts

Zetoc Alerts from the British Library email you the contents pages of new journal issues.

To access Zetoc, click the link below and, when prompted, log in with your Healthcare Library username and password.

To learn how set up a Zetoc Alert, contact your Specialist Librarian, or view the video below (click the square in the bottom right corner to view it full-screen).

Current Awareness Bulletins

Your Specialist Librarian prepares monthly and bi-monthly current awareness bulletins, containing links to new, full-text articles on a range of specialties. To view bulletins, and to subscribe to receive new issues by email, click the link below.