Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the resources on this page are subscription databases.
On-campus, students and staff will usually have free guest user access.
To access databases from off-campus:
- Always use links from the Library catalogue, a Subject Guide or the Databases A-Z list. This will allow you to sign in for remote access.
- A Queen's authentication screen will open for all off-campus access
- Enter your Queen's University ID card number and password to sign in
Key databases for journals & conference papers
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the journals and conference proceedings of both the IET and the IEEE as well as to IEEE standards. Coverage is from 1988 to the present although selected content dating back to 1950 is also included.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals published by Elsevier. Check 'detailed holdings' for Queen's subscriptions.
Springer Journals This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of articles published in Springer journals to which the Library subscribes.
Scopus This link opens in a new windowSCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Other recommended databases
British Standards Online This link opens in a new windowThe British Standards Online (BSOL) database contains current, draft and historic British Standards as well as BSI national adoptions of European standards and selected international standards. Most documents are available electronically in full text.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.