For a comprehensive search of the research literature use one or more of the key databases (below).
The databases will provide information about articles and papers, but often they do not include the PDFs of the articles. You can use the QConnect service to link to the full-text of articles and papers in the library's subscriptions.
Please note: The key databases cover many more items than are included in the Library's subscriptions. If you find a paper which you cannot access online because the library doesn't subscribe to it, you may be able to request a copy via the Inter-Library Loans service.
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from mechanical and aerospace engineering and other engineering and science disciplines. Scopus is great for finding up to date academic journal articles and conference papers. It is a good complement to the Web of Science database (see below).
Access Scopus
The makers of Scopus provide a range of online video tutorials explaining the features and functionality of this database, including:
The Web of Science is an extensive bibliographic and citation database. It covers key academic journals from mechanical and aerospace engineering and other engineering and science disciplines. The Web of Science is a great source of information on academic journal articles and conference papers. It is a good complement to Scopus (see above).
Access Web of Science
What is the Web of Science Core Collection? Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
The makers of Web of Science provide a range of video tutorials on YouTube, explaining the features and functionality of this database, including:
The ASTM Compass Digital Library provides access to standards, STPs, books, journal articles and other documents published by ASTM International (formerly: the American Society for Testing and Materials). PDFs of documents are available for download.
Access ASTM Compass Digital Library
The makers of ASTM Compass Digital Library provide a Quick Reference Guide (PDF, 11 KB)
The British Standards Online (BSOL) database contains current, draft and historic British Standards as well as BSI national adoptions of European standards and selected international standards (e.g. ISO, IEC). Most documents are available to view on the screen (select "Quick view") or as downloadable PDFs.
Access British Standards Online
Please note:
BSI provide further information and a download link for the FileOpen plug-in on their webpage
You may only print a single copy of a document downloaded from the British Standards Online database. Printing any number of pages of a document (even a single page) is counted as a single print. BSI recommend that if you need a printed version, you print the entire document.
SAE Mobilus Academic Library provides online access to technical papers, reports, articles and other publications on topics in aerospace, automotive and commercial vehicle industries.
Access SAE Mobilus Academic Library
SAE Mobilus search tips
ESDU provides access to continually updated, validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples and programs. The database includes relevant materials for aerospace, mechanical, structural and chemical engineering.
Access ESDU Engineering Data
The Ei Compendex Backfile is useful when you need to find older journal articles and conference papers, which were published between 1884 and 1969. It covers all areas of engineering and includes papers which are not listed in Scopus or the Web of Science. Search Scopus or the Web of Science if you need to find more recent papers.
Access Ei Compendex Backfile via the Engineering Village platform (tick the Ei Backfile box)
The library subscribes to a range of business databases which can be useful when you need to research commercial aspects of engineering:
Business Source Premier provides access to articles from more than 2,000 business journals and it also includes case studies, company information, SWOT analyses and market research literature. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.
Access Business Source Premier
ABI/Inform Global is a comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series. PDFs of many indexed sources are available for download.
Access ABI/Inform Global
Many of the resources on this page are subscription databases.
On-campus, students and staff will usually have free guest user access.
To access databases from off-campus:
Please note: the EThOS service is currently unavailable due to a cyber attack.
Email: i.bittles@qub.ac.uk
Tel: 028 9097 6277
You may also find answers to your questions in our e-resource access and troubleshooting guide