Skip to Main Content
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
America : history & life This link opens in a new window
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
An index to journals held in the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline.
Archive of Celtic-Latin literature This link opens in a new window
A dictionary of medieval Latin from Celtic sources
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals. Part of the Web of Science.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Supports religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
BFI Screenonline This link opens in a new window
On-line encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring clips and recorded interviews from the BFI archives. Accessible on QUB campus only.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth. All periods are covered and the bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900. Over 700 journals and series are currently indexed.
BOB This link opens in a new window
BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
British Association for the Advancement of Science This link opens in a new window
The BAAS archive from Wiley Digital Archives contains an aggregation of collections from the BAAS and from archival collections related to the BAAS, contributed by various institutions across the United Kingdom.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Part I: 1800-1900
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stewart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
Part II: 1800-1900
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth.
Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (C19 Index) is a vast resource that forms the bibliographic spine of 19th century research. It comprises tens of millions of records and provides integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. It includes: Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue; The Nineteenth Century; American Periodicals; British Periodicals; Cotgreave's Index; An Index to Legal Periodical Literature; Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849; Periodicals Index Online; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Stead's Index to Periodical Literature; The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900; House of Commons Parliamentary Papers; Proceedings of the Old Bailey; The U.S. Serial Set; Archive Finder; Palmer's Index to The Times; The "Bookman" Directory of Booksellers, Publishers and Authors; Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
Dictionary of Irish Biography Online (DIB) This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography (DIB) is a project of the Royal Irish Academy. DIB provides access to over 11,000 biographical articles describing and assessing the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport of prominent men and women born in Ireland, north and south, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Drama Online Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Drama Online Core Collection provides access to available playtext content and scholarly publications, offering a diverse and rich catalogue of plays by the world's leading dramatists.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Covers many subject areas, including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Early European Books Collections 1-4 This link opens in a new window
Covering all items from the age of Gutenberg, Koberger and Aldus Manutius to 1700, Early European Books brings together the canonical texts of the Renaissance, the Reformation and the Age of Discovery alongside rich primary source material like pamphlets, sermons, almanacs and other ephemera.
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections This link opens in a new window
Access to scanned full text copies of 150,000 18th Century books, pamphlets and ephemera.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2009 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. Gale Primary Sources greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and powerful research tools.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Irish History Online This link opens in a new window
Irish History Online is part of a European network of national historical bibliographies from fourteen countries. Irish History Online is an authoritative listing (in progress) of what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present.
Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
Database of national and regional Irish newspapers from 1800-2021. Includes the Radical Archive of newspapers.
Irish Times, The This link opens in a new window
Contains exact reproductions of all articles published by the Irish Times from 1859 onwards
John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new window
Kanopy BASE is an on-demand streaming video platform providing access to over 6,100 titles. It includes documentaries, classic cinema and independent films.
Library of Latin Texts - Series A This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a wide range of Latin works from Antiquity, the Church fathers, and the medieval and modern period. More than 3,200 texts are included.
Library of Latin Texts - Series B This link opens in a new window
Complements the Library of Latin Texts - Series A by placing online the full text of Latin works from existing editions. All genres and periods are covered. The collection includes chronicles, medieval saints lives, legal, philosophical and scientific texts.
Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration (Module I) This link opens in a new window
Collection materials include unique primary source material on the ‘Century of Immigration’ (1800-1924). Materials include Colonial Office files on emigration, unique diaries, personal letters, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, oral histories, and journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, history of printing and publishing etc.
Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.
NewsVault This link opens in a new window
NewsVault cross-searches QUB's collection of Gale historical newspapers and newspaper collections.
Nexis UK (Shibboleth) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis provides access to a wide range of news and business sources.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - British Politics and Society This link opens in a new window
A resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration This link opens in a new window
The Stormont Administration ran Northern Ireland as a province of the UK from 1921-72. This digital resource offers full-text searching of facsimile images of the complete record of Stormont from the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, along with new interpretative essays and resources.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online contains in depth, high level articles written by leading scholars in their fields. They cover 17 disciplines: Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History. Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion and Sociology.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
An index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text online access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Check 'detailed holdings' for journal availability.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale abstracts of music literature is a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. RILM includes over 620,000 records dating from 1967. Over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The Screen Studies Collection offers a comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies, from ProQuest.
This collection includes the specialist FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute: AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science, this service indexes a wide range of journals in the social sciences, allows searching by article citation, and provides article abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current) This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 provides access to back issues of The Times and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register (1785-1787). The Times Digital Archive takes the microfilm collection of The Times (London), producing a high-resolution digital format with every complete page of every issue full-text searchable - every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement. The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 enables access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 19th, 20th and early 21st century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
Vogue Archive, The This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the full run of past issues (400,000 pages) and is updated monthly with the current issue.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 1800-1900 Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Series 2 includes all 25,000 of the Series 1 (1997) entries, most of them now updated, and an additional 25,000 entries, for a total of 50,000. It has 4,000 more facsimile title pages for a total of 9,000, and includes 48,000 personal names. For instance, every name in the DNB and Modern English Biography which is associated with a Victorian periodical appears here.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. There are more than 132,500 records in this version. World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is updated quarterly.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current) This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Yeats, W. B. - The Collected Letters This link opens in a new window
The InteLex electronic edition of The Collected Letters of W. B. Yeats includes all of the known letters of the great Irish poet, dramatist and statesman.