Skip to Main Content

Pharmacy for Healthcare Library: Finding the literature

For a quick and basic search try the Library Search

ClinicalKey available as an app

Use the free app to access ClinicalKey on the go by following these easy steps:-

  1. It's important that you first register with ClinicalKey on a PC by accessing ClinicalKey via the link in the box above, click on Register and follow the on screen instructions  
  2. Once step 1 is complete, download the free ClinicalKey app from your App Store or Google Play
  3. Open the app on your mobile device 
  4. Click on Institutional login option and search for Healthcare Library of Northern Ireland
  5. Log in with your usual Library log in when prompted

You are ready to search ClinicalKey on the go.

 

Tips on searching databases

Databases are subject based search engines that enable you to search across a large number of journals simultaneously.  Before using databases, remember to break your search/topic down into two or three key concepts.

  • Think of keywords, including synonyms, for each concept of your topic.
  • For databases such as Medline, search for your keywords or concepts one at a time rather than entering them into the search box at the same as with Library search.
  • Once you have searched for each keyword separately use OR to combine the synonyms and finally, AND to combine each concept.

EXAMPLE:

Evaluate the use of iloprost in the treatment of pulmonary hypertension

Concept1: iloprost OR ventavis OR ZK36374

Concept 2 : pulmonary hypertension OR primary pulmonary hypertension OR familial primary pulmonary hypertension OR pulmonary arterial hypertension OR idiopathic pulmonary hypertension

  • Use the limits in the databases to further reduce your search results.
  • Searches carried out can be saved or alerts created - set up a user account within the database.
  • For each search result, use the Full Text Check link to check if it is available via the library.

UK Medicines Information Research methods

Are you new to research or would just like more information on research methods?  UKMi provides key tips and resources on the research process.

Toolkits for reviewing the literature

Online tutorials on searching for different types of reviews