Architecture: Books / e-books

QUB library holds thousands of books and e-books on architecture and related subjects, which can be found by searching Library Search.

Most architecture books have shelfmarks beginning with NA and are shelved on Floor 2 of the McClay Library. Some books in other areas may also be useful, for example books on building construction (shelfmarks beginning with TH, shelved on Floor 3).

Short Loan: Books which are on module reading lists and in high demand are kept in the Short Loan Collection on the ground floor of the McClay Library.

Reference books, such as encyclopaedias and handbooks, are shelved at the start of the book sequence on floors 1, 2 and 3 of the McClay Library. You can recognise them by the shelfmark which begins with R/.

E-books can be accessed both on campus and from home. Find the required book on Library Search and follow the "Available Online" link. You may be asked to log in with your QUB ID card details.

For more information on finding and accessing e-books, please have a look at our e-book guide.

Use Library Search to find the books you need.

Each printed (i.e. hardcopy) book has a shelfmark consisting of letters and numbers. The shelfmark tells you where to find the book on the shelf. Shelfmarks are also used to group books together by topic. So, when you fetch a book from the shelf, you may find other books on the same topic shelved beside it.

This diagram shows how to read a shelfmark.

If you are based remotely or self-isolating and are unable to borrow printed books in person, the Library can provide you with a scan of one chapter from a book or 10%, whichever is greater. Please submit your request for a scanned book chapter via the online form at the Scan and Deliver website.

The Construction Information Service database provides access to additional e-books which are not currently listed on Library Search. The books are relevant to architecture, construction and related fields and include many books published by RIBA, such as the Good Practice Guides

1. Find the Construction Information Service in Library Search
2. Click on "Available Online", then click the "Construction Information Service CIS" access link
3. On the next page, click the QConnect button 
4. If requested, complete the consent form for your details to be shared with the supplier and click Accept, or sign in with your QUB ID card details
5. You will be taken to the Accuris Main Menu screen. Select The Construction Information Service - CIS from the available services.

Popular e-books on the "Construction Information Service" database include:

• Deutsch, Randy. (2020) Think like an architect : how to develop critical, creative and collaborative problem-solving skills. London: RIBA Publishing.
• Thompson, Matt. (2024) Handbook of practice management. 10th edition. London: RIBA Publishing.
• Rowlands, Carys and Dixon, Alasdair Ben. (2023) RIBA ethical practice guide. London: RIBA Publishing.
• Denison, Edward et al. (2024) A practical guide to architectural drawing. London: RIBA Publishing.
• Cheshire, David. (2021) The handbook to building a circular economy. 2nd edition. London: RIBA Publishing.

If the library doesn't hold a book or e-book, which you would like to read - or there are not enough copies - please let your subject librarian know. 

Fill in the online book suggestion form or email your subject librarian, Irene Bittles (email: i.bittles@qub.ac.uk).

Your subject librarian will consider every book / e-book purchase suggestion and, if appropriate, the book will be ordered for the library. We will keep you informed about the outcome of your book suggestion.

Sometimes QUB Library may not have a particular book which you need, or not enough books on a topic you are interested in.

You can use Library Hub Discover (the combined catalogues of more than 200 major UK and Irish libraries) or WorldCat to find information about books on your topics of interest which are not available at Queen's.

If you identify a useful book, you may be able to request a temporary loan of the book from another library via the Inter-Library Loans service. 

Alternatively, you can request that the book is purchased for the Library collection. Please complete the online book suggestion form or email your subject librarian, Irene Bittles, if you would like to make a book purchase request. Your subject librarian will consider every book purchase suggestion and, if appropriate, the book will be ordered for the library. We will keep you informed about the outcome of your book suggestion.