Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to databases and catalogues
Indexes and catalogues aim to provide researchers with comprehensive lists of resources available either within particular institutions or in a specific subject area. Indexes and catalogues will not usually provide full text to all of their contents, but will instead give you brief details about articles or books.
The amount of full-text available will vary from index to index. Often a Connect button will be available and this will either link through to full-text or enable you to search QCat for the book or article. Please note that the Connect button does not guarantee that full-text is available.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals. Part of the Web of Science.
BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, history of printing and publishing etc.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
Full-text online access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Check 'detailed holdings' for journal availability.
O'Reilly ebooks & video
O'Reilly ebooks & video provides access to more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences. Access to exclusive O’Reilly content and resources from more than 200 of the world’s best publishers.