Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to databases and catalogues
Indexes and catalogues aim to provide researchers with comprehensive lists of resources available either within particular institutions or in a specific subject area. Indexes and catalogues will not usually provide full text to all of their contents, but will instead give you brief details about articles or books.
The amount of full-text available will vary from index to index. Often a Connect button will be available and this will either link through to full-text or enable you to search QCat for the book or article. Please note that the Connect button does not guarantee that full-text is available.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, history of printing and publishing etc.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online contains in depth, high level articles written by leading scholars in their fields. They cover 17 disciplines: Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History. Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion and Sociology.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals. Part of the Web of Science.
SCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
Full-text online access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Check 'detailed holdings' for journal availability.
BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 1800-1900 Series 2
Series 2 includes all 25,000 of the Series 1 (1997) entries, most of them now updated, and an additional 25,000 entries, for a total of 50,000. It has 4,000 more facsimile title pages for a total of 9,000, and includes 48,000 personal names. For instance, every name in the DNB and Modern English Biography which is associated with a Victorian periodical appears here.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900
Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.
British Library 19th Century Collection
The collection of 19th-century printed books from the British Library consists of more than 65,000 works and over twenty-five million page images, scanned in full colour, including covers, fly-leaves and printers pages.The collection stretches across topics as diverse as science, literature, politics, travel, art, history, religion, fiction and music.