Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital newspaper archives at Queen's (login required off-campus)
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database providing access to over 3000 publications, with more than 2000 journals and working paper series in full text. A wide range of business disciplines are covered. Includes 18 international newspapers - check publications link for for available full-text coverage.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth.
Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Covers many subject areas, including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2009 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
Database of national and regional Irish newspapers from 1800-2021. Includes the Radical Archive of newspapers.
Irish Times, The This link opens in a new window
Contains exact reproductions of all articles published by the Irish Times from 1859 onwards
Nexis UK This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis provides access to a wide range of news and business sources.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - British Politics and Society This link opens in a new window
A resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
North China Herald (NCH Online) This link opens in a new window
The official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council - a reference source for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities from around 1850 to the 1940s.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 provides access to back issues of The Times and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register (1785-1787). The Times Digital Archive takes the microfilm collection of The Times (London), producing a high-resolution digital format with every complete page of every issue full-text searchable - every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement. The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 enables access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 19th, 20th and early 21st century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more.
The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the full run of past issues (400,000 pages) and is updated monthly with the current issue.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 This link opens in a new window
Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.
Gale Cross Search Tools
Gale/Cengage databases can be cross searched using the following tools.
Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper Search This link opens in a new window
Cross searches the following Gale databases: Burney Newspaper Collection, The Times Digital Archive, Financial Times Digital Archive, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals and British Library Newspapers (Parts I & II)