LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Step 1: Preparation

Preparing to undertake a systematic review

2 important things to consider before starting your systematic review are:

What bibliographic databases will you search?
Which reference management tool will you use?

Bibliographic databases

These contain references and abstracts of articles and other resources, and are the best source of literature relevant to your subject area.

The Library at Queen’s provides access to multidisciplinary databases like Web of Science and SCOPUS, along with a range of subject-specific databases. Find relevant databases in the Subject Guide for your discipline.

Bibliographic databases have different interfaces and search syntax (i.e. search structure and language) rules, so it is a good idea to become familiar with them before embarking on your review.

Searching bibliographic databases for systematic reviews will be covered in more detail in Steps 2 and 3.

Reference management tools

These tools are especially useful if you are conducting a systematic review, as they enable you to store references, format citations automatically in Word documents, and produce reference lists in the style of your choice (e.gg APA, Harvard, Vancouver).

They also make it easier to identify duplicate references, which will be important when it comes to screening and collating records for your review.

The Library's Reference Management guide outlines the various tools available. However, the Library at Queen's only supports EndNote, which is widely used for systematic reviews, and will be covered in more detail in Step 4.

Books on systematic reviews

Understanding as much as possible about the entire systematic review process is crucial before you start your review.

The Library provides access to various books on conducting systematic reviews. Some of these focus on specific disciplines, but the same principles will apply to all systematic reviews, regardless of research area.

Below are some Library books on systematic reviews that you might want to look at. More can be found using the Library Search.

E-books

Conducting Systematic Reviews in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity by David Tod
ISBN: 9783030122638
Publication Date: 2019
From the publisher's summary: "This book offers a conceptual and practical guide to the systematic review process and its application to sport, exercise, and physical activity research. It begins by describing what systematic reviews are and why they assist scientists and practitioners. Providing step-by-step instructions the author leads readers through the process, including generation of suitable review questions; development and implementation of search strategies; data extraction and analysis; theoretical interpretation; and result dissemination."

Print books

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by Julian P. T. Higgins (Editor); James Thomas (Editor); Jacqueline Chandler (Associate Editor); Miranda Cumpston (Associate Editor); Tianjing Li (Associate Editor); Matthew J. Page (Associate Editor); Vivian A. Welch (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781119536628
Publication Date: 2019
From the publisher's summary: "[C]ontains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions."
Doing a Systematic Review by Gemma Cherry (Editor); Rumona Dickson (Editor); Angela Boland (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473967007
Publication Date: 2017
From the publisher's summary: "Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project."
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by David Gough (Editor); Sandy Oliver (Editor); James Thomas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473929432
Publication Date: 2017
From the publisher's summary: "[T]his book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, [it] carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism; it introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis including text mining, living reviews and new ideas in mixed methods reviews such as qualitative comparative analysis."
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by Julia H. Littell; Jacqueline Corcoran; Vijayan Pillai
ISBN: 9780195326543
Publication Date: 2008
From the publisher's summary: "This book aims to make familiar current methods and standards for research synthesis. It describes systematic reviews and meta-analyses, with numerous examples relevant to social work practice and policy. Systematic reviews and meta-analysis can overcome important limitations that are inherent in traditional, narrative summaries of research. The process of conducting a systematic review is described. The book is organized according to the steps involved in conducting a meta-analysis within a systematic review."

Books on general literature search skills

If you've decided that you don't need to do a systematic review, but would still like to undertake a general but systematic literature search, then you might find the books below useful (more books are available - check the Library Search).

E-books

How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing: a Step-By-step Guide by Josette Bettany-Saltikov
ISBN: 9780335263813
Publication Date: 2012
From the publisher's summary: "This is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in nursing, or related healthcare professions, that takes you through every step of the process from start to finish. From writing your review question to writing up your review, this practical book is the perfect workbook companion if you are doing your first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement. The book features sample review case studies to help identify good practice as well as the pitfalls to avoid, and the practical explanations will be invaluable at every stage."
Searching Skills Toolkit by Nicola Pearce-Smith; Caroline De Brun
ISBN: 9781118463130
Publication Date: 2014
From the publisher's summary: "[A]n expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals."

Print books

Doing Your Literature Review by Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
ISBN: 9781848601536
Publication Date: 2011
From the publisher's summary: "This highly accessible book guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and the skills needed. It gives practical advice on reading and organising relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field. Contents include: using libraries and the internet note making presentation critical analysis referencing, plagiarism and copyright. This book will be relevant to students from any discipline."
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Andrew Booth; Anthea Sutton; Mark Clowes; Marrissa Martyn-St James
ISBN: 9781529711844
Publication Date: 2022-04-20
From the publisher's summary: "Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data... The perfect project support for any social sciences student, this edition also includes a new chapter on analysing mixed methods research."