Skip to main content

Electronics, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science: Journal Articles

Ejournals

The Library's ejournals are included in QCat Discover but the major electrical engineering and computer science packages are:

Print Journals

The 1981 to current year journals are shelved in the Journal Back Issues Area on the 3rd floor of the McClay Library.

The pre-1981 journals are kept in the Library Store - please ask at the Borrower Services Desk on the ground floor if you wish to consult any of them.

Databases

If you want to do a quick search for a few journal articles, use Article Search or an ejournal package such as IEEE Xplore or the ACM Digital Library. They will deliver the full-text immediately.

If you want to do a comprehensive search, use the databases below because they have wider coverage and more search options. Apart from ABI/INFORM and Business Source Premier, the databases do not contain the full-text – you need to use QConnect to link from the database to the full-text elsewhere on the web. The databases also cover many more items than are available from the Library but if you find something you cannot access, it can be requested via the Inter-Library Loans service.

Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. A key resource for finding journal articles and conference proceedings in engineering and science disciplines. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the impact of journal titles.

Scopus tutorials: Video or text

Web of Science gives access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts, and humanities. A good complement to Scopus.

Web of Science Tutorial: Web of Science Quick Tour (YouTube)

The Inspec Archive helps you discover journal articles and conference papers about computer science, electrical engineering and physics which were published between 1898 and 1968. To find more recent literature, search Scopus, the Web of Science or IEEE Xplore.

The Compendex backfile is great for finding engineering journal articles and conference papers which were published between 1884 and 1969. Search Scopus or the Web of Science for more recent papers.

MathSciNet provides an index of international research literature in mathematics, including math-related research in computer science. It is produced by the American Mathematical Society.

MathSciNet video tutorials

ABI/Inform Global is a comprehensive business database providing access to a wide range of journals and working paper series in full text. Useful for researching commercial aspects of electronics, electrical engineering, computer science and IT.

ABI/Inform Global guide

Business Source Premier provides access to the online full text of over 2000 business journals. It also includes company information and market research literature. A great database for researching commercial aspects of electronics, electrical engineering, computer science and IT.

Cited Reference Searching

If you find a journal article that is particularly relevant to your research, a simple way of finding similar articles is to look for ones which have referred to your original. You can do this by using these databases:

See the Cited Reference Searching tutorial for further information. (Text-only version)

Keeping Up to Date

The ZETOC and Journal TOCs services will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. They cover a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.