Skip to main content

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering: Articles and Papers

E-journals

All the Library's e-journals are included in the A-Z List and there are also specific journal packages that may be of interest: 

Print Journals

Hardcopies of journals published from 1981 to the present are shelved in the Journals Area on the 3rd floor.

The pre-1981 journals are kept in the Library Store - please ask at the Borrower Services Desk on the ground floor if you wish to consult any of them.

Databases

If you just need to do a quick search for a few journal articles, use QCat Article Search or an ejournal package. They will deliver the full-text immediately.

If you need a comprehensive overview of journal articles or conference papers, use the databases below because they have wider coverage and better search options. 

Some of the databases contain full-text documents but, for those which don't, you will need to use the QConnect service to link from the database to the full-text elsewhere on the web. The databases cover many more items than are available from the Library but if you find something you cannot access, it can be requested via the Inter-Library Loans service.

Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. A key resource for finding journal articles and conference proceedings in engineering and science disciplines. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the impact of journal titles.

Scopus tutorials: Video or text

Web of Science gives access to citation databases, journals and conference proceedings with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts, and humanities. A good complement to Scopus.

Web of Science Tutorial: Web of Science Quick Tour (YouTube)

Additional SAE Technical Papers published from 1966 to 2004 are available on microfiche in the McClay Library. Please speak to staff at the Borrower Services Desk to obtain a microfiche and for any assistance you might like in using the mircofiche reader.

The Compendex backfile is great for finding engineering journal articles and conference papers which were published between 1884 and 1969. Search Scopus or the Web of Science for more recent papers.

QCat Article Search


Use QCat Article Search to look for full-text articles by title, by author or by topic.

You can search QCat from the Library homepage, or by using the box below.

 

Search QCat Article Search

 


Cited Reference Searching

If you find a journal article that is particularly relevant to your research, a simple way of finding similar articles is to look for ones which have referred to your original. You can do this by using these databases:

See the Cited Reference Searching tutorial for further information. (Text-only version)

Keeping Up to Date

The ZETOC and Journal TOCs services will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. They cover a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.