Skip to main content
Banner Image

Special Collections & Archives: Home

Special Collections & Archives

The Special Collections service at Queen's provides access to the Library's rare and early printed book, map, and manuscript collections, as well as to more modern material relating to Ireland and Ulster in particular. The books, pamphlets, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, and maps held in Special Collections include examples of the earliest printed works (incunabula), and books and pamphlets published between the 16th and early 19th centuries (STC and Wing items). The University Archive comprises records pertaining to the history and development of Queen's from its foundation as a Queen's College in 1845 through to its establishment as an independent university in 1908 to the present day.

Our Reading Room is located on Floor 1 of the McClay Library and provides a comfortable, dedicated space appropriate to the consultation of Special Collections material. 

Opening Hours

Opening Hours:

Monday to Friday:
9.00a.m. - 7.00p.m.

Saturday: 
10.00a.m. - 5.00p.m.

Sunday:
Closed

From Saturday 4th June, our Vacation Opening Hours will be as follows: 

Monday to Friday: 9.00a.m. - 5.00p.m.

Saturday: 10.00a.m. - 5.00p.m.

Sunday: Closed

Please note: the Library will be closed on 12th and 13th July for the public holiday. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Please note that access to early printed books, manuscripts or discrete collections must be arranged in advance. Access to these materials is restricted in the evenings and at weekends.

Manuscript Collections

JSTOR

 JSTOR Ireland Collection

The Ireland Collection, developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast, is an interdisciplinary collection of journals and other materials. When complete the Ireland Collection will contain a minimum of 75 journals, including journals with moving walls between 1 and 5 years and ceased journals from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. Over 200 monographs and 2,500 manuscript pages will also be included.

Contact Info

Special Collections
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives
The McClay Library
Queen’s University Belfast
10 College Park
Belfast
BT7 1LP

Tel: 028 9097 6333
Email: specialcollections@qub.ac.uk

Twitter Feed

Head of Special Collections and Archives

Deirdre Wildy

 Tel:  028 9097 6218

 Email: d.wildy@qub.ac.uk

Send Email

Visitors