Anthropology: New HAPP Students: Getting Started

Academic content has been peer-reviewed before publication. This means that other academics in the subject area, experts in their field of research, have reviewed and checked it for quality. So you can trust it is high quality and acceptable to use in your assignments.

There are three main types of academic content you will be expected to find as a university student: books, chapters in books and journal articles.

1. Books

Tosh, John, Why history matters (New York: Palgrave MacMillan, 2008)  ​

Note the publication year. To find this book type the title into the Library Search. This book is available as a print book and an ebook. The print book is located in the Short Loan Collection at shelfmark D16.I63 TOSH. The ebook may be accessed via the Available Online link underneath the title.

Find books using the Queen's University Library Search. Type in a few words from the title of the book you need, or type in a keyword to view all books in the Library about that topic. Library Search will show the locations of all print copies of books that you can borrow. It will also include links to any books are available for you read on-line in e-book format.

2. Chapters in books 

Michelle T. King. "Working with/in the archives." In Research methods for history, edited by Simon Gunn and Lucy Faire, 13-29. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2012.

Note the word "in". This is a particular chapter in an edited collection. It was published as a book. To find it search for the book in the Library Search, then look up the content page to find the chapter. This book is available as an ebook and may be accessed via the Available Online link underneath the title.

Book not available?

• Is the the print book you need on loan? You may request it's return. Simply sign in to Library Search as prompted from the results page and place a request. The book will be recalled from the current reader who will have seven days to return it. When the book is returned you will receive a notification to your Queen's email address.
• If the book you need does not appear in our catalogue, please email your Subject Librarian, who will investigate purchasing.

3. Journal articles 

Downey, Hilary and Sherry John F. "Public art and transformation in Northern Ireland" Arts and the market, 10, 3 (2020): 187-203 

The journal here is called Arts and the market. The article title is "Public art and transformation in Northern Ireland". Note the volume number 10 and Issue number 3 in this example. Journals are published periodically, usually several times a year, so there could be several volumes for the same year. There are two ways to find this article:

• First, copy and paste the article title into Library Search. Tip: if you know the exact title, search for it using "double quotation marks" around the words you are using.

• If this doesn't work, find out if the journal is available online as an an ejournal by checking Library Search. Then locate the Year and Volume number. When you have found the correct volume, look through the contents until you find the article you need.

Library Search will search across all the journals subscribed to by the Library. Read or download an article by clicking on the link that appears underneath the article details. Follow the link through to the relevant publisher's website and log in with your student number and password if prompted to do so. Most articles will be available for you to print or save in PDF format.

As an undergraduate student at Queen's you may be expected to find resources such as journal articles, books as well as primary sources to help you with your assignments.  

To get started, refer to your module handbook or reading list provided by your tutor. This will provide details of all material you need to read for your assignments. Much of this content may be available to you on Canvas, but in some cases you may be expected to find books, book chapters and journal articles yourself using the Library at Queen's. 

There are many resources to help you learn to research and write effectively - and these are key transferable skills for university students. Get the best use out of your time as a student at Queen's by learning these key skills:

• Find high quality academic content for your course: check the Library Training page or contact your Subject Librarian to find out about upcoming courses. Library training includes introductions to key resources for your subject and how to best search databases to find content.
• The Learning Development Service also provides academic skills support to students, including guidance on time management, exam preparation, academic writing, referencing, academic integrity, and research.
• Look out for social media posts highlighting your AHSS study Skills assistants for this year or email: skillshub@qub.ac.uk
• If you would like a refresher on academic expectations and working with scholarly material at university the best place to start is with our short Transition Skills online course. This will outline what is expected of you at university.

AI technologies seem to be everywhere and promise to be the answer to everything. AI cannot think (the keyword here is artificial intelligence) and as a university student you are responsible for the quality of the academic work you produce. So how can you engage with new AI technologies responsibly?

1. First, check your module homepage and assignment pages on Canvas for guidelines on using AI during your studies in the School of HAPP. Use of AI may not be permitted. These guidelines will outline what is expected of you when researching and preparing assignments. 

2. Understand the consequences of misusing AI and academic misconduct at Queen’s. Using AI to generate assignment content will be considered plagiarism or contract cheating if sources aren't properly cited or the work lacks originality. All forms of plagiarism—including accidental—are serious offences. Full details are outlined in the Student Guide to Procedures for Dealing with Academic Offences.

3. Investigate how you can use AI responsibly at Queen's. Get best use out of the tools available and improve your understanding of pros and cons of using AI by visiting QUB DigiHub. Read QUB Student Guidance on the use of generative AI. For a comprehensive overview of how you can utilize generative AI to enhance your use of library resources at Queen’s see the AI and the Library guide.

4. There are many resources to help you learn to research and write effectively - and these are key transferable skills for university students. Get the best use out of your time as a student at Queen's by learning these key skills:

• Find high quality academic content for your course: check the Library Training page or contact your Subject Librarian to find out about upcoming courses. Library training includes introductions to key resources for your subject and how to best search databases to find content.
• The Learning Development Service also provides academic skills support to students, including guidance on time management, exam preparation, academic writing, referencing, academic integrity, and research.
• Look out for social media posts highlighting your AHSS study Skills assistants for this year or email: skillshub@qub.ac.uk

Access

• Always bring your student card with you to the Library
• The McClay Library operates a controlled entry system
• Use your student card to gain admission to the Library building

Study

• Study spaces are located throughout The McClay Library
• Note Silent and Whisper Zones
• Do not eat food in the Library. Only bring in drinks with lids
• Photocopiers and scanners are located on each floor of the Library. Upload money onto your Student Card to pay for printing. Scanning is free, but you need a £1.00 balance to operate this service. You will need to use your card to release printing.

Books

• Although many book in the Library are available as ebooks, some titles are only available as print books.
• In subjects such as HAPP print remains an important format from which to access content.
• Undergraduate students may borrow 15 books at a time. Find out more on the Library webpage. 
• Use contactless self-service borrowing stations located on all floors of the Library

The QUB Chatbot is a good first port of call if you are lost online. Find it on the Library homepage. 

Library Help FAQs : quick, focused answers to common questions.

This subject guide: content updated by your Subject Librarian. Included links to resources and tips on how to get best use out of the Library.

Your Subject Librarian: make initial contact via email. Email queries, questions or comments or arrange to meet for a one-to-one skills session via MS Teams

AHSS Digital Champions: a student-led team supporting other students' online learning & digital skills in the AHSS Faculty