Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to databases
There are two main types of databases that will be useful to you as a student: indexes and catalogues. These aim to provide researchers with comprehensive lists of resources available either within particular institutions or in a specific subject area. Indexes and catalogues will not usually provide full text to all of their contents, but will instead give you brief details about articles or books.
The amount of full-text available will vary from index to index. Often a Connect button will be available and this will either link through to full-text or enable you to search the Library Catalogue for the book or article. Please note that the Connect button does not guarantee that full-text is available.
Below is a list of key databases. You can also find databases by searching the Library catalogue.
If you would like some help in searching databases contact your Subject Librarian.
Anthropological Index Online An index to journals held in the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
AnthroSource AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. It enables access to a full-text journals.
Project Muse Full-text online access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Check 'detailed holdings' for journal availability.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale abstracts of music literature is a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. RILM includes over 620,000 records dating from 1967. Over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Social Science Citation Index Part of the Web of Science, this service indexes a wide range of journals in the social sciences, allows searching by article citation, and provides article abstracts.
Zetoc Electronic table of contents from the British Library. Available free of charge to UK further and higher education institutions sponsered by JISC.
Searching databases: quick start guides to finding content
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)