Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry & Chemical Engineering: Key Databases

Searching the key databases

For a comprehensive search of the research literature use one or more of the Key Databases (below).
 
The databases don't contain the online full text of articles and papers, so you will need to use the QConnect service to link to the full-text in the library's subscriptions.
 
Please note: The key databases cover many more items than are available from the Library. If you find a paper which you cannot access online because the library doesn't subscribe to it, you may be able to request a copy via the Inter-Library Loans service.

Key databases for chemistry and chemical engineering

SciFinder

SciFinder is an extensive database of chemical literature. Use it to find journal articles and patent records, as well as chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, or substances by name. Alternatively, use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. Produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS)

Access SciFinder (via the Library Catalogue)

Please note: You must register for a personal SciFinder account. Please use a computer on the Queen's University network to complete the registration. Alternatively, use the following link and sign in with your QUB ID card details, prior to registering your account: SciFinder account registration link

SciFinder - help and support

 

Further help and user guides:

SciFinder-n FAQ page

SciFinder-n quick start guide with step-by-step guidance  

How to migrate your current saved answers and alerts to SciFinder-n

Scopus

The world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from chemistry, chemical engineering and other science and engineering subjects. Great for finding academic journal articles and conference papers. Good complement to the Web of Science.

Access Scopus (via the Library Catalogue)

List of Scopus tutorials (video or text-only)

Web of Science

Extensive bibliographic and citation database. Covers key academic journals from chemistry, chemical engineering and other science and engineering subjects. Great source of information on academic journal articles and conference papers. Good complement to Scopus.

Access Web of Science (via the Library Catalogue)

Web of Science Core Collection: Quick Reference Guide (PDF)

EI Compendex Backfile (1884 to 1969)

Great for finding older journal articles and conference papers from all areas of engineering. Use Scopus or Web of Science for more recent content.

Access EI Compendex Backfile (via the Library Catalogue)

Accessing Databases

Many of the resources on this page are subscription databases.

On-campus, students and staff will usually have free guest user access.

To access databases from off-campus:

  • Always use links from the Library catalogue, a Subject Guide or the Databases A-Z list. This will allow you to sign in for remote access.
  • A Queen's authentication screen will open for all off-campus access
  • Enter your Queen's University ID card number and password to sign in

Other recommended databases