LibGuides: Education: Key databases

Database search operators

Database search operators

Assistance

Accessing eresources from home

Problems accessing e-Resources

Help with searching

Key Journal Databases

TIP! Designing a search strategy will save your time.

APA PsycINFO (1806 - present) This link opens in a new window An abstracting and indexing resource covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window Access to research on all aspects of education from preschool to higher education. Strengths include educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Also includes books, reports, series and conference papers. Content dates from 1950.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Access to current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window Access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals across all disciplines
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers a wide array of topics in education including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation and much more.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window Includes research on educational leadership and management.
Education Source This link opens in a new window Education Source provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (public version) This link opens in a new window This version of ERIC provides access to full text of some non-journal documents.
ERIC (subscription version) This link opens in a new window Includes journals in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Also indexes ERIC documents, such as curriculum guides, research reports and conference papers.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window A major international social science database which includes a wide range of social science journals with good coverage of European material.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, history of printing and publishing etc.
Scopus This link opens in a new window SCOPUS is the world's largest bibliographic and citation database. It covers nearly 20,000 academic journals from a wide range of subjects and dates from 1996 to the present. SCOPUS will also be the source of the citation data which will be used by some of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) assessment panels. As well as carrying out literature searches, you can set up current awareness alerts, view citation counts, determine your h-index and assess the quality of journal titles. SCOPUS is part of the SciVerse suite of resources which is produced by Elsevier and includes the ScienceDirect electronic journals service.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Part of the Web of Science, this service indexes a wide range of journals in the social sciences, allows searching by article citation, and provides article abstracts.

Other Scholarly Resources

Alexander Street EDTV Provides access to instructional videos produced in 2008 by the UK's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

BOB This link opens in a new window BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. BoB can be accessed only within the United Kingdom.

Campbell Collaboration Provides systemic reviews of research evidence in social, behavioural and educational arenas. The Reviews are published in the Campbell Systematic Reviews Journal published by Wiley.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).

EPPI Centre Database of Education Research This resource assists with the discovery of systematic reviews. Select the Evidence Library to see the index and chronological list of reviews.
Eurydice A European Commission initiative, the Eurydice Network provides information on and analyses of European education systems and policies.
EURYPEDIA This database from Eurydice aims to present the most accurate picture of national education systems across Europe. Whether you need to know about a specific education system or analyse an education issue at European level, Eurypedia will provide you with information on 38 school and university systems.
House of Commons Library Research Politically impartial publications produced by Commons Library researchers, covering legislation, policy areas, and topical issues.

Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new window Kanopy BASE is an on-demand streaming video platform providing access to over 6,100 titles. It includes documentaries, classic cinema and independent films.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window Mass Observation Online makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years.

Nexis (newspapers) Provides access to local, national and international newspapers and market and industry reports with archives.
OECD Education iLibrary Provides access to all books, periodicals and online databases published by OECD in the area of education.

Pressreader This link opens in a new window PressReader allows you to read thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the globe.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Teachers TV from Education in Video Provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.
Theses A guide to discovering theses from around the world.