Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most of the databases in the A-Z list are subscription databases. For all subscription access:
- Always connect from a LibGuides or QCat link to authenticate as a Queen's student or staff member
- A Queen's authentication screen will open for all 'off campus' access
- Enter your Queen's student / staff number and password to access databases
O'Reilly ebooks & video
O'Reilly ebooks & video provides access to more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences.
The Film and Video, Music and Audio and Podcasts sections have lots of practical guide books.
Film - Key Online Databases
BOB This link opens in a new window
BOB, powered by Learning on Screen, allows users to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The Screen Studies Collection offers a comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies, from ProQuest.
This collection includes the specialist FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute: AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Performing Arts – indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
BFI Screenonline This link opens in a new window
On-line encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring clips and recorded interviews from the BFI archives. Accessible on QUB campus only.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, history of printing and publishing etc.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth. All periods are covered and the bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900. Over 700 journals and series are currently indexed.