Medicine, Dentistry and Healthcare Sciences for Healthcare Library: Database searching

Database searching

Please note: videos on this page are in the process of being updated - 03/10/2024

See below for links to, and guidance on using, key databases and other resources of relevance to medicine, dentistry and healthcare science searches.

Database queries should be directed to Richard Fallis, Specialist Librarian for the above professional areas: richard.fallis@healthcarelibrary.qub.ac.uk 

The videos below all use the search example shown at: https://libguides.qub.ac.uk/healthcarelibrary/medicinedentistryandhealthcaresciences/searchplanning

cognitive deficit* OR cognitive impairment*

AND

COVID-19 OR coronavirus disease 2019 OR SARS-CoV-2

Limit results to: English language review articles about elderly patients

Searching PubMed

PubMed is a major, free medicine and biomedical sciences search platform.

It is recommended for quick searches where reproducibility is not essential.

If running advanced searches, such as scoping or systematic reviews, MEDLINE ALL is recommended instead.

Access PubMed by clicking the link below:

Video length: 2 minutes 52 seconds

Searching Ovid databases

Ovid is an online platform offering access to 2 key Healthcare Library databases, MEDLINE ALL and Embase. 

MEDLINE ALL is recommended instead of PubMed for advanced searches such as scoping or systematic reviews. 

Access key Ovid databases by clicking the links below and logging in with Healthcare Library credentials if prompted:

The video below shows how to search Ovid databases, with a particular focus on MEDLINE ALL.

Video length: 12 minutes 50 seconds