LibGuides: Medicine, Dentistry and Healthcare Sciences for Healthcare Library: Resource quick links

Quick links to key Medicine, Dentistry and Healthcare Sciences resources

Below are direct links to the major Library resources of relevance to HSC Medicine, Dentistry and Healthcare Sciences staff. Log in with your Healthcare Library number and password if prompted to gain access to a particular resource.

If you have any questions about using these resources, please email Richard Fallis.

Databases

Use bibliographic databases to search through millions of articles from 1,000s of journals.

Below are the Healthcare Library databases most relevant to medicine, dentistry and healthcare sciences.

Click on a database to access it (if prompted, you will need to log in with your Healthcare Library number and password).

MEDLINE (1946-present) Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
MEDLINE (last 4 years) Access to records added to MEDLINE during the past 4 years.
ClinicalKey Cutting edge 'clinical insight' engine from Elsevier, drawing from 1,000s of high-quality resources, including 100s of Elsevier journals and the latest edition of e-books. Also features an extensive collection of copyright-cleared images, and First Consult clinical summaries.
Cochrane Library Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
ProQuest Medical Library Extensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature.
PubMed (with Healthcare Library links)

For a full list of databases and similar resources accessible via the Healthcare Library, please go to our Databases A-Z.

Grey literature

Grey literature is research material that isn’t formally published in a journal or a book. Some useful sources of grey literature are listed below.

Clinical trial registries

clinicaltrials.gov Includes details of trials which have not yet been completed or remain unpublished.
ISRCTN Registry Registry of trials designed to assess the efficacy of health interventions in any human population.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) The ICTRP Search Portal aims to provide a single point of access to information about ongoing and completed clinical trials. It provides a searchable database containing the trial registration data sets made available by data providers around the world meeting criteria for content and quality control.

Guidelines

Guidelines & Audit Implementation Network (GAIN) Northern Ireland-based network, aiming to deliver audit, guidelines, teaching and medical device evaluation in a reliable and consistent fashion.
National Institute for Health & Clinical Excellence (NICE) NICE guidance supports healthcare professionals and others to make sure that the care they provide is of the best possible quality and offers the best value for money.
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) The Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) develops evidence based clinical practice guidelines for the National Health Service (NHS) in Scotland. SIGN guidelines are derived from a systematic review of the scientific literature and are designed as a vehicle for accelerating the translation of new knowledge into action to meet our aim of reducing variations in practice, and improving patient-important outcomes.

Other sources

Grey Literature Report Bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
King's Fund Research, reports and analysis on health and social care, with a focus on NHS England.
National Institute for Health Research Information about ongoing research, sponsored by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR).
OpenDOAR Directory of academic open access repositories at multiple research institutions.
PROSPERO Maintained by the University of York's Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), PROSPERO includes systematic reviews of the effects of interventions and strategies to prevent, diagnose, treat, and monitor health conditions, for which there is a health related outcome.