Bibliographic databases (often just referred to as 'databases') allow you to search across a wide range of journals and this is the best way to find relevant academic information on your topic. The main bibliographic databases relevant to Physics are listed below.
These databases contain references and abstracts and will link you to the full text of the article where QUB has a subscription to the e-journal.
Before you start searching the databases, you will need to construct a search strategy:
For a more detailed description of search techniques, please see separate page on Planning your search strategy.
Some of the key bibliographic databases relevant to Physics are listed below.
If you find a relevant article, an easy way to find other articles on the same topic is to look at the Reference list/Bibliography. Most databases also have a Citation search feature which means you can link to other articles that have referred to your original paper.
You can set up email alerts within bibliographic databases to find out what new articles are being published in your area of interest; check out the Help screens in each database for instructions of how to do this.
Subject Librarians are able to show QUB students and staff undertaking any type of literature search (e.g. literature review, scoping review, systematic review) how to:
At peak periods of demand, Subject Librarians might not be able to deliver all of the above. Please contact your Subject Librarian Carol Dunlop at email@example.com to check availability.
QUB students and staff must provide Subject Librarians with a clear search topic or question, along with a selection of appropriate keywords and synonyms. Students should discuss these with their supervisor before contacting Subject Librarians.
Subject Librarians are unable to do the following for QUB students and staff: