Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Official Publications: Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland official publications are shelved in Law and Official Publications on Floor 2 of the McClay Library. The classification assigned to the print collection is JZN.

The collection dates from 1921 and includes all Northern Ireland Parliamentary and Assembly publications along with Northern Ireland departmental papers. 

Print materials are collected under the Library's special deposit status for Northern Ireland official publications however with the formal move to e-format, the Library, in partnership with the British Library, has focused on acquiring and adding all titles published since September 2015 to its digital archive, the Northern Ireland Official Publications Archive. Some key titles, where available in print, continue to be added to the print collection.

Searching the collection

The publications are arranged under their issuing body and can be found using the Library Catalogue advanced search with guidance from the Searching tab. 

Certain publications such as Statutory Rules, Bills & Acts are treated as serials and are not searchable by title. Northern Ireland Assembly (NIA) papers are also bound as a serial but key papers warranting individual identity have a record in the Library Catalogue.

The following indexes can help trace documents:

Since the decentralisation of official publishing, many departments and agencies publish independently of TSO, and so their publications may not be listed in TSO catalogues.

Principle publications in print

Parliamentary Papers

  • Northern Ireland Parliament, Commons Debates: Complete set 1922-1972 located at JZN5
  • Northern Ireland Parliament, Senate Debates: Complete set 1922-1972 located at JZN4
  • Northern Ireland Assembly (1973-4), Official Report of the Assembly
  • Northern Ireland Assembly (1982-1986), Official Report of the Assembly
  • Northern Ireland Assembly (1999-2014), Official Report of the Assembly
  • Northern Ireland Assembly Papers, (1973-2015)
  • Northern Ireland Command Papers located at JZN17 with exceptions for departmental reports which are located with the department titles.

Northern Ireland Executive

Publications of the Northern Ireland Executive and Departments located at allocated classifications for each department.

Journals

The Belfast Gazette located at JZN1

Publications online

Northern Ireland Parliament and Cabinet 1921-1972

The following online sources relate the period 1921 - 1972.